Binance Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

Note: Binance is not available to Canadians. Binance withdrew from the Canadian market in May 2023 after refusing new CSA investor-protection requirements, and it remains unavailable in every province and territory. Netcoins is the only active platform here.

In this comparison, we look at Binance and Netcoins, two popular cryptocurrency exchanges in Canada. Binance is a global exchange with advanced trading features and a wide range of cryptocurrencies, and completely off-limits to Canadians since May 2023. Netcoins is a Canadian exchange designed for simplicity, with a flat 0.5% fee, 60+ coins, seven-day phone support and a Visa card with 3% bitcoin cashback. This comparison is preserved for historical reference only.

Binance Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. Binance left Canada in May 2023 after announcing on May 12, 2023 that new Canadian securities rules made operating there untenable. Since Binance no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
BinanceNetcoinsWinner
Canadian statusLeft CanadaCSA-registeredNetcoins
My rankingNot in my top 10Not in my top 10Tie

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do Binance And Netcoins Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

Binance Vs Netcoins: Master Spec Table
BinanceNetcoinsWinner
CompanyBinance, founded 2017 by Changpeng Zhao. Canadian entity: Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc. (FINTRAC, ceased). Funding and staff: Not published.Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.Depends
RegulationFINTRAC MSB M21783493 (Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc.) Ceased 2023-05-30. Not on the CSA authorized or banned list as of 2026-10-02.CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.Netcoins
AssetsHundreds of coins globally, none accessible from Canada.65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.Netcoins
PriceHistoric global base spot fee 0.1% with BNB discounts. Not applicable to Canadians.No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.Netcoins
CAD InNo longer available to CanadiansInterac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.Netcoins
CAD OutNo longer available to CanadiansInterac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.Netcoins
Crypto In And OutLegacy Canadian users can withdraw crypto to a private wallet. Networks and minimums: Not published.On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.Netcoins
CustodyCold storage with multi-signature wallets and the SAFU fund, per Binance. No Canadian entity holds assets today.Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.Netcoins
Verification (KYC)No longer available to CanadiansGovernment ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.Depends
Account TypesNo longer available to CanadiansPersonal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.Netcoins
ProvincesNo longer available to CanadiansRegistered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.Netcoins
Extra ProductsNo longer available to CanadiansNot verifiedNetcoins
Tax ToolsNo longer available to CanadiansNot verified.Netcoins
AppAvailable in supported countries; for Canadians only to withdraw legacy balances.iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.Netcoins
SupportNo longer available to CanadiansPhone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.Netcoins
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between Binance And Netcoins?

Binance Vs Netcoins: Side By Side
BinanceNetcoins
DescriptionFounded in 2017 by Changpeng "CZ" Zhao, a McGill graduate raised in Canada, Binance was the world's largest cryptocurrency exchange by trading volume, offering hundreds of coins, deep liquidity and every product type. It withdrew from Canada in May 2023 after announcing that new Canadian securities rules made operating there untenable, and it is unavailable in every province and territory.Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
CoinsHundreds of cryptocurrencies including BTC, ETH, XRP, DOGE and USDT, none accessible from Canada.60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
FeesA 0.1% base spot fee, dropping with volume and BNB discounts, was historically among the cheapest anywhere. Not applicable to Canadians now.No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Pros
  • Largest exchange in the world with the deepest liquidity
  • Huge altcoin selection and low fees
  • Advanced order types, margin, futures and P2P trading
  • Lite and Pro interfaces for beginners and veterans alike
  • Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac funding and withdrawals
  • All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
  • Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
  • Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
  • Owned by a publicly traded company
  • OTC desk for large trades
Cons
  • Exited Canada in May 2023 rather than accept the new CSA requirements that every registered platform accepted
  • Fined roughly $6 million by FINTRAC for anti-money-laundering reporting failures in Canada
  • Pleaded guilty in the US in 2023 with an approximately $4.3 billion settlement, with founder CZ serving prison time before a 2025 pardon
  • Faced Canadian class action litigation over derivatives previously sold to retail investors
  • Using it via VPN violates its terms, risks frozen funds, and leaves you with no recourse in Canada
  • Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
  • Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
  • No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
  • Wire fees under the free thresholds
  • Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Security2FA, cold storage with multi-signature wallets, mandatory KYC and the SAFU emergency fund. The 2019 hack (7,000 BTC stolen from the hot wallet, roughly 2% of holdings, fully reimbursed) was a reminder that even giants get breached.Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Methods To BuyCanadians cannot buy crypto on Binance. Legacy users with balances should withdraw to a private wallet. Binance said it hoped to return one day but no return has been announced, so treat any offer of Binance access for Canadians as a scam.Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
AppThe app works in supported countries; for Canadians its only remaining function was withdrawing legacy balances.Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Account LimitsNot applicable. New Canadian registrations were blocked and legacy Canadian accounts were moved to withdrawal-only status.Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out Binance And Netcoins In Canada?

Netcoins: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot verifiedNot publishedtypically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wireFree over CAD 3,000; under that Not publishedNot verifiedNot publishedNot published
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedNetwork speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Bank wireCAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000Not publishedNot publishedNot published

Legacy Canadian accounts are withdrawal-only. No current funding methods. Not verified

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNetcoins BuyNetcoins Round Trip
CAD 100Not publishedNot published
CAD 500Not publishedNot published
CAD 1,000Not publishedNot published
CAD 10,000Not publishedNot published

Netcoins: Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do Binance And Netcoins Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Binance Only

  • Derivatives, margin and P2P (historic): Binance offered futures, margin and P2P trading globally. Canadian retail access ended in May 2023.

Netcoins Only

  • Staking: Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
  • Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
  • OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
  • Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.

What Happens To Your Money If Binance Or Netcoins Fails?

Binance: Binance has no Canadian entity registered or recognized today, so Canadian regulators give you no recourse. If you still hold a balance, withdraw it to a wallet you control; legacy Canadian accounts were set to withdrawal-only. Using a VPN to keep trading breaks Binance's terms and can freeze your funds. Treat sites and Telegram groups offering Binance access to Canadians as scams.

Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.

How Are Binance And Netcoins Treated For Tax In Canada?

Binance: Trades on Binance were dispositions for CRA purposes. Export your trade and deposit history while you can still log in for withdrawals. Export formats: Not published.

Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, Binance Or Netcoins?

Choose Binance If

  • You want a registered platform that serves Canadians today: Coinbase is our number one replacement, with free Interac e-Transfer funding and a Canadian restricted dealer registration.

Choose Netcoins If

  • You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
  • You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
  • You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices

What Happened To Binance?

Binance left Canada in May 2023. On May 12, 2023 it announced that new Canadian securities rules made operating there untenable. Global News reported that the new rules covered stablecoins and crypto contracts, with a CAD 100 million escrow mentioned. A few weeks later, on May 30, 2023, the FINTRAC registry shows Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc. (M21783493) as ceased.

Binance is not on the CSA authorized list and it is not on the CSA banned list. It simply is not here. It said it hoped to return one day, but I found no sign of a return.

Binance: Timeline
DateEvent
May 12, 2023Binance announces it is leaving Canada
May 30, 2023FINTRAC lists Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc. as ceased

What Should Existing Binance Users Do?

If you still hold anything on Binance, treat it as an account at a platform that does not serve Canada. I have not verified current withdrawal terms for Canadian users, so confirm them in Binance's own Canada FAQ before you move money, and move long-term holdings to your own wallet.

What Should Binance Users Use Instead?

The closest answer on this page is Netcoins, a CSA-authorized restricted dealer with a buy, sell and hold app. Here is what it offers, using the same sources as the cards above.

Netcoins: Key Facts
ItemNetcoins
RegulationCSA-authorized restricted dealer; latest amended decision September 16, 2026
Trading CostNo separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
Interac E-Transfer FundingFree (deposit and cash withdrawal)
Cashing OutInterac free; wire withdrawal CAD 50 under CAD 25,000
Coins65 coins listed on the official fee page

Netcoins does not charge a separate trading fee. The price you are quoted already contains its spread, and the fee page does not publish what that spread is, so you cannot work out the true cost of a trade from the schedule alone. Compare the live quote against a market price before you confirm anything.

Interac e-Transfer is free for deposits and for cash withdrawals. Bank wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000 (the fee under that amount is not published), and wire withdrawals cost a CAD 50 processing fee for amounts under CAD 25,000.

The official fee page lists 65 coins, one of which (Bittensor) is trade-only. Solana was added through the September 16, 2026 variation order, which also confirmed an investment limit on purchases and sales over a rolling 12 months for certain investors in specific jurisdictions.

Netcoins Inc. is on the CSA list as a restricted dealer, with the British Columbia Securities Commission as principal regulator. The CSA list shows amended decisions on September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022, after an original decision on September 29, 2021. Its FINTRAC registration (M15560893) runs to October 15, 2027. The variation order describes an investment limit for certain investors, but it does not state the dollar amount, so I cannot give you the number.

Netcoins is built around a buy, sell and hold flow rather than a trading screen. I could not verify app-store ratings for it in my facts file, so I will not quote one. Judge the interface yourself with a small first purchase.

Netcoins: Pros And Cons

Pros

  • On the CSA list as a restricted dealer
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and withdrawals
  • 65 coins listed on the official fee page
  • Active regulatory file, with a decision dated September 16, 2026

Cons

  • Spread percentage is not published
  • Investment limit applies to certain investors (amount not stated)
  • Wire withdrawals cost CAD 50 under CAD 25,000
  • No app-store rating verified

Pick Netcoins if you want a CSA-authorized dealer with a wider coin menu than a Bitcoin-only service and you are happy with a spread-based price.

Is There Another Option Besides Netcoins?

The status registry I keep for dead and departed platforms points Binance users to Kraken as the like-for-like replacement. Registered Restricted Dealer (Payward Canada) with a broad coin list and CAD Interac funding. Its regulation: cSA Restricted Dealer (Payward Canada Inc.), decision April 1, 2025. Its cost: kraken Pro 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker at the entry tier; Instant Buy 1% plus spread. Coins: about 490 (derived).

Visit Kraken Read My Kraken Review

Not sure either fits? My ranking of the best crypto exchanges in Canada and the exchange quiz sort the field by what you actually need.

What Changed For Binance And Netcoins In October 2026?

  • : The CSA issued an amended decision for Netcoins (the Solana variation order).
  • : An earlier CSA amended decision for Netcoins is dated this day.
  • : FINTRAC lists Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc. (M21783493) as ceased.
  • : Binance announces it is leaving the Canadian market.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Happened To Binance?

Binance left Canada in May 2023. On May 12, 2023 it announced that new Canadian securities rules made operating there untenable. Global News reported that the new rules covered stablecoins and crypto contracts, with a CAD 100 million escrow mentioned. A few weeks later, on May 30, 2023, the FINTRAC registry shows Binance Canada Capital Markets Inc. (M21783493) as ceased.

Can Canadians Still Use Binance?

No. Binance left Canada in May 2023 and is not available to Canadian residents.

What Should Binance Users Use Instead?

Netcoins is the option on this page. A registered dealer with a simple buy-sell-hold app. Pick Netcoins if you want a CSA-authorized dealer with a wider coin menu than a Bitcoin-only service and you are happy with a spread-based price.

Is Netcoins Safe For Canadians?

CSA-authorized restricted dealer; latest amended decision September 16, 2026. Netcoins Inc. Crypto itself is not covered by CIPF, so keep long-term holdings in your own wallet.

How Much Does Netcoins Cost?

No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published).

Which Is Better For Canadians, Binance Or Netcoins?

Netcoins, because Binance left Canada in May 2023. Pick Netcoins if you want a CSA-authorized dealer with a wider coin menu than a Bitcoin-only service and you are happy with a spread-based price.

Do Binance And Netcoins Have Limit Orders?

Binance: Yes globally, not for Canadians. Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested).

Which Coins Can You Buy On Binance And Netcoins?

Binance: Hundreds globally, none for Canadians Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC

Is The Spread The Fee On Binance And Netcoins?

Binance: No longer applicable. Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Binance Or Netcoins?

Binance: CIPF never covers crypto, and this platform no longer serves Canadians. Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto.

Are Binance And Netcoins Available In Every Province?

Binance: No longer available in any province. Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Binance And Netcoins?

Binance: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes.

What Is The Minimum Buy On Binance And Netcoins?

Binance: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10.

Can A Business Use Binance Or Netcoins?

Binance: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!