NDAX Vs Coinbase: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

NDAX and Coinbase are both reputable platforms for cryptocurrency trading, each with unique strengths. NDAX shines as a Canadian-built platform with the highest regulatory tier in the country, while Coinbase is recognized globally for its beginner-friendly interface and the transparency of a publicly traded S&P 500 company.

NDAX Vs Coinbase: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, Coinbase is the better choice (it wins on my ranking, coins available). NDAX still comes out ahead on published trading fee. NDAX is best for low flat fees and cheap cash-outs to your bank.

NDAX logo7.8/10
CSA-registered, CIRO investment dealer

Low flat fees and cheap cash-outs to your bank

Coinbase logo9.8/10
CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)

First-time buyers who want a regulated, simple app

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
NDAXCoinbaseWinner
Canadian statusCSA-registered, CIRO investment dealerCSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)Tie
My ranking#7 of 10, 7.8/10#1 of 10, 9.8/10Coinbase
Published trading feeFlat 0.20%Up to 1.875% on simple buys, plus spreadNDAX
CAD fundingFree Interac e-Transfer and wireFree Interac e-Transfer and EFTTie
Coins available77 assets200+Coinbase

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do NDAX And Coinbase Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

NDAX Vs Coinbase: Master Spec Table
NDAXCoinbaseWinner
CompanyNational Digital Asset Exchange (Ndax Canada Inc.), Calgary, founded 2017. Reported founders Bilal Hammoud (CEO), Hussein Hammoud and Omar Abbas. Funding and staff: Not published.Coinbase Canada, Inc. (BC1279128), unit of Coinbase Global, Inc. (Nasdaq: COIN). Founded 2012, San Francisco, by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam. Public company. Staff not sourced.Depends
RegulationCIRO investment dealer since 2024-12-19; CSA list yes. FINTRAC M18632135 to 2027-12-31. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto. AMF: Not verified.CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces and territories (Decision 2024-04-03, amended 2026-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M22815925, expires 2027-03-06. Not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto or cash here.NDAX
AssetsAbout 76 coins on the public instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD. Order book: not verified. USDT status is conflicting and not stated.200+ assets on the Canadian site, order book on Coinbase Advanced. USDT, DAI and RAI not available to Canadians. No official Canadian coin list is published.Coinbase
PriceFlat 0.20% on every buy and sell, no tiers, no maker or taker split, as checked 2026-10-03. Crypto withdrawal flat fees apply. Staking admin fee 20%.Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), 1% extra on simple limit orders. Advanced: no spread, Canadian maker/taker rates not published.NDAX
CAD InFree: Interac e-Transfer (0 to 30 minutes) and wire (0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours). Crypto deposits free after confirmations.Free: Interac e-Transfer and EFT. Wire, 3D Secure card and PayPal fees are not published.Tie
CAD OutInterac e-Transfer CAD 1.50, CAD 10,000 per transaction, 0 to 30 minutes. EFT bank deposit CAD 4.99, no min or max, 0 to 1 business days. No free method.Interac e-Transfer, EFT and PayPal cash-out supported. Fee not published ('may be charged a fee depending on the payment method').Depends
Crypto In And OutOn-chain with several networks. BTC: Standard 0.00007 BTC (up to 4h), Express 0.00014 (instant), Flex free (up to 12h), as of 2026-10-01; fees are flat. No Lightning or Liquid found.On-chain sends and receives, Lightning sends (0.2% processing fee). Coinbase pays and passes on an estimated network fee at send time. USDT withdrawals carry 0.01% (max 20 USDT).Tie
CustodyCustodial. Majority in cold storage with BitGo and Coinbase Custody trust companies, segregated omnibus accounts; multisig, MPC, SOC 2 Type 2. No insurance figure or PoR found.Custodial. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. No insurance figure or proof of reserves on the Canadian pages.Tie
Verification (KYC)Full KYC: personal details and government ID, usually cleared within a day. Age of majority required. SIN and selfie: Not verified.Government ID (Canadian licence, passport, PR card and others) plus a selfie, address must match the ID, status normally within 24 hours. A suitability questionnaire is mandatory. SIN not stated.Depends
Account TypesIndividual, joint (right of survivorship), legal entity, plus an OTC desk. TFSA and RRSP: Not found.Personal account. Business and institutional accounts exist at Coinbase but Canadian availability is not verified. No TFSA or RRSP.NDAX
ProvincesAll provinces and territories. Investment limits may apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. Mobile app offers French (Canada).All provinces and territories incl. Quebec. Net purchase caps on non-major assets in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU, YT. French support not verified.Tie
Extra ProductsStaking and Auto Earn (20% admin fee), OTC desk, API trading, instant internal and gift transfers. No card or loan found. Recurring buys and referral: Not verified.Staking (35% commission), USDC rewards, Coinbase One subscription, DEX trading, signup banner 'up to CA$200' (terms not verified). Derivatives only for qualified Canadian investors.NDAX
Tax ToolsCSV ledger reports from the Reports menu, and a Koinly API integration. No CRA-ready report.Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and raw transaction history as CSV, plus Canadian annual performance and charges reports. No CRA-formatted report or Koinly link confirmed.Tie
AppApple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews), 2026-10-01. Web app yes. French UI yes in the app. 2FA yes. Price alerts: Not verified.iOS 4.56 (65,030 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app yes. 2FA yes, price alerts yes. French UI not verified.NDAX
SupportLive chat, phone 1-833-727-6329, email support@ndax.io. Chat reported Mon to Fri 10am to midnight ET (secondary). French support: Not verified.24/7 live chat, phone and email per Coinbase pages, formal complaints process. Support quality described as inconsistent in our earlier test. French support not verified.Tie
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX Vs Coinbase: Side By Side
NDAXCoinbase
DescriptionNational Digital Asset Exchange (NDAX) is a Calgary-based exchange and one of the most regulated platforms in the country, a CIRO investment dealer since December 2024. It combines a beginner-friendly platform and highly rated app with one of the lowest flat fees in Canada.Founded in 2012, Coinbase is one of the world's best-known cryptocurrency exchanges. It is a public company (Nasdaq: COIN) and an S&P 500 component. In April 2024 it became the first international exchange registered with the CSA as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, and it offers a simple interface that makes it a popular starting point for beginners.
CoinsAbout 76 base assets on its public Canadian instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Cardano, Chainlink and Polkadot.200+ available to Canadians, including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and LTC. USDT, DAI and RAI are not available to Canadians, in line with CSA stablecoin guidance.
FeesFlat 0.20% on every buy and sell, with no volume tiers and no maker or taker split. CAD deposits by Interac e-Transfer and wire are free; Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 (CAD 10,000 per transaction) and EFT bank withdrawals CAD 4.99. Crypto withdrawals are flat amounts per network. Staking and Auto Earn rewards carry a 20% administration fee.Free CAD deposits via Interac e-Transfer and EFT | Simple interface: a spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), the expensive way to buy | Simple limit orders add a separate 1% execution fee | Advanced: no spread because you trade against the order book, but the Canadian maker/taker rate table is not published on a public page | Coinbase One subscription waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells (spread still applies, Advanced and the 1% limit fee excluded) | Staking commission 35%
Pros
  • One flat 0.20% fee, no tiers
  • CIRO investment dealer with a CSA decision (2024-12-19)
  • About 76 coins, most paired directly with CAD
  • Free Interac and wire deposits
  • SOC 2 Type 2 audited
  • Staking, Auto Earn, OTC desk and API trading
  • Joint, entity and individual accounts
  • Koinly API integration
  • First international exchange registered as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, plus a FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
  • Simple, polished interface, great for beginners
  • Advanced has no spread, an order book and limit orders
  • Staking available, and USDC rewards
  • Publicly traded S&P 500 company with audited financials
  • 2FA is switched on automatically, with security key support
Cons
  • Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 and EFT CAD 4.99
  • Custodial, and crypto is not covered by CIPF
  • No insurance figure or proof of reserves published
  • Staking rewards carry a 20% administration fee
  • Investment limits can apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec
  • Interac withdrawal capped at CAD 10,000 per 24 hours
  • Whether USDT trades for Canadians is unclear and omitted
  • Simple interface fees are high, so use Advanced for anything sizeable
  • Staking commission is steep (35% of rewards)
  • Customer support quality is inconsistent
  • Strict name matching on payment methods can cause held or failed deposits
  • Crypto assets are not covered by CIPF or CDIC
  • No Canadian rate table for Advanced is published openly
SecurityCustodial. The user agreement says the majority of assets are in cold storage with regulated trust-company custodians (BitGo Trust Company and Coinbase Custody Trust Company), in segregated omnibus accounts. Multi-signature and MPC, SOC 2 Type 2 audit. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto.2FA auto-enrolled with security key support, multi-approval withdrawals in Coinbase Vault, a bug bounty program, and full KYC. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1 and does not lend them without permission, and it publishes audited financials as a public company. Canadian pages publish no insurance dollar figure or cold storage percentage.
Methods To BuyInterac e-Transfer (free, 0 to 30 minutes), wire transfer (free, 0 to 1 business days) or a crypto deposit.Interac e-Transfer (adds cash) | EFT bank transfer | 3D Secure debit or credit card | PayPal | Wire (adds cash)
AppiOS and Android apps plus web; the app lists Francais (Canada). Apple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews) on 2026-10-01.iOS 4.56 on the Canadian App Store (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app available. Price alerts and a loss-notification feature required by Canadian rules.
Account LimitsNo deposit limits set by NDAX, your bank sets them; wire deposits show a CAD 10,000,000 monthly wallet limit in a help article. Interac withdrawals CAD 10,000 per transaction. EFT withdrawals have no minimum or maximum.Net purchase caps apply to assets other than BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT, no cap in AB, BC, MB, SK and QC. Answers to the onboarding questionnaire can instead cap a new account at CAD 1,000 per rolling 12 months until the profile is updated. BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC are unlimited.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out NDAX And Coinbase In Canada?

NDAX: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedSet by your bank0 to 30 minutes
Wire transferFreeNot publishedSet by your bank0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedafter network confirmations
NDAX: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferCAD 1.50Not publishedCAD 10,000 per transaction0 to 30 minutes
Direct bank deposit (EFT)CAD 4.99No minimumNo maximum0 to 1 business days
Coinbase: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)FreeNot publishedNot publishedcredited instantly
Wire transferNot publishedNot publishedNot published1 to 3 business days
3D Secure cardNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
Coinbase: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant

Bank-side Interac and wire limits apply. Account name must match your bank account. Weekend timing: Not published; wire speed is subject to bank hours. Coinbase publishes no minimums, maximums or cash-out fees for Canada, so the bank-side limit is the practical cap. Payment method name must match the Coinbase account name or the deposit goes to manual review for one to three business days.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On NDAX And Coinbase?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNDAX BuyNDAX Round TripCoinbase BuyCoinbase Round Trip
CAD 100$0.20$0.40$0.00 to $1.88$0.00 to $3.75
CAD 500$1.00$2.00$0.00 to $9.38$0.00 to $18.75
CAD 1,000$2.00$4.00$0.00 to $18.75$0.00 to $37.50
CAD 10,000$20.00$40.00$0.00 to $187.50$0.00 to $375.00

NDAX: Flat 0.20% of trade value on every buy and sell, no tiers (fees page checked 2026-10-03). Withdrawal fees are extra and flat. Coinbase: High end is the Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% on simple buys and sells (varies by payment method), checked 2026-10-03, with a spread on top that is shown only in the order preview and a separate 1% on simple limit orders. Low end is the 0% maker rate Coinbase advertises for Advanced, but the Canadian rate table is not public. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do NDAX And Coinbase Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

NDAX Only

  • Staking and Auto Earn: Opt-in rewards on supported assets. NDAX keeps 20% of rewards as an administration fee; the homepage advertises staking up to 13% APY.
  • OTC desk: Over-the-counter trading for large orders; terms and minimums are not published on the pages I could open.
  • API trading: Programmatic trading API, and a public instrument feed that lists the coins available.
  • Internal transfers: Transfers between NDAX accounts, including gift transfers, settle instantly at no cost.

Coinbase Only

  • Coinbase Advanced: Order book trading with no spread, limit orders and charting. The Canadian maker/taker table is shown only after signing in, so the rate is not published here.
  • Staking: Standard commission 35% of rewards for ADA, ATOM, AVAX, DOT, ETH, MATIC, SOL and XTZ, lower for Coinbase One tiers (31.75%, 28.5%, 25.25%). Canadians must pass a staking appropriateness questionnaire, repeated every 12 months.
  • Coinbase One: Subscription that waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells, with a spread still included. It excludes Advanced and the 1% limit order fee. Subscription price not retrieved.
  • USDC rewards: Rewards on USDC balances, not guaranteed and not covered by CIPF or CDIC. The advertised rate (up to 3.75% APY) was seen on the navigation menu only.
  • Derivatives for eligible investors: Futures through Coinbase Financial Markets launched 2026-09-02 for eligible Canadian investors only, not retail.

What Happens To Your Money If NDAX Or Coinbase Fails?

NDAX: NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer, so CIPF protects the CAD cash you hold there, but the user agreement says no virtual asset in your account is eligible for CIPF or CDIC protection. Most assets sit in cold storage with trust-company custodians in omnibus accounts, and NDAX has a SOC 2 Type 2 audit, but it publishes no insurance amount and no proof of reserves. A hack, a custodian failure or an insolvency can still hurt crypto balances. Withdraw to your own wallet if you hold coins for the long term.

Coinbase: The CSA Restricted Dealer decision gives regulator oversight, a suitability questionnaire, loss notifications and purchase caps, but it is not deposit insurance. Coinbase says fiat and crypto are not protected by CIPF or CDIC. Customer assets sit in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company, and the Canadian pages publish no insurance figure or proof of reserves, so the 1:1 holding promise rests on Coinbase's own statement and public-company audits. Account holds on mismatched names or EFT deposits can lock funds for days.

How Are NDAX And Coinbase Treated For Tax In Canada?

NDAX: Each sale, swap and staking reward event is a disposition or income for CRA purposes, and staking rewards are income at the value received. NDAX provides CSV ledger reports and a Koinly API link but no CRA-ready report.

Coinbase: Buying crypto with CAD is not a disposition, but selling, converting one coin to another, spending, and staking rewards are taxable events. Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and a transaction history as CSV; you still file the Schedule 3 yourself.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, NDAX Or Coinbase?

Choose NDAX If

  • You want a low flat 0.20% fee and a wide list of CAD-paired coins.
  • You want a CIRO-registered exchange that lists dozens of CAD pairs.
  • You want staking, an OTC desk or API access.
  • You mostly buy and hold and rarely cash out, since CAD withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 to 4.99.

Choose Coinbase If

  • You want a large public company with a simple app and a CSA-registered Canadian entity.
  • You are comfortable using Advanced rather than the simple buy screen, which costs far more.
  • You want free Interac e-Transfer or EFT funding and a wide altcoin list.

What Are The Main Differences Between NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX, short for National Digital Asset Exchange, is a Calgary-based exchange run by Ndax Canada Inc. It is a CIRO investment dealer member (CIRO membership terms were imposed on December 19, 2024) and it sits on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians. It is also a FINTRAC-registered money services business, and it has been one of the cheaper places in the country to trade for years.

Coinbase Canada, Inc. is the Canadian arm of the best-known crypto exchange in the world. It is a CSA Restricted Dealer in every province and territory, with a Decision dated April 3, 2024 and an Amended Decision dated April 1, 2026, and it is registered with FINTRAC as an MSB. For beginners it is the easiest on-ramp in the country.

The short version: choose NDAX for the lowest published flat fee, cheap cash-outs to your bank and a CIRO-registered Canadian platform, and Coinbase for the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app. The sections below show where each one wins and where it does not, using the numbers I could verify.

NDAX Vs Coinbase At A Glance
DetailNDAXCoinbase
Trading CostFlat 0.20% on every buy and sellSimple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875%; Advanced Canada rate table not verified
CAD DepositsInterac e-Transfer free (0 to 30 minutes), wire free (0 to 1 business days)Interac e-Transfer free, EFT free, card and PayPal also available
CAD WithdrawalsInterac e-Transfer $1.50 (up to $10,000 per transaction), EFT $4.99Cash out by Interac e-Transfer and EFT; fee not published
Coins77 base assets listed on its public API200+ assets
RegulationCSA list (Decision December 19, 2024), CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSBCSA Restricted Dealer (Amended Decision April 1, 2026), FINTRAC MSB
StakingYes, opt-in, with a 20% administration fee on rewardsYes, ETH, ADA, SOL, ATOM and XTZ up to 10% APY, standard commission 35%
App Ratings (Canada)Apple 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7Apple 4.56 (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4
Sign-Up BonusNo sign-up bonus on fileBanner says up to $200 for getting started; terms not verified

How Do NDAX And Coinbase Compare On Fees?

NDAX Fees

NDAX charges one flat 0.20% fee on every buy and sell. There are no volume tiers and no maker and taker split, so a $100 trade and a $50,000 trade pay the same rate. That simplicity is the main reason I point cost-conscious Canadians at it. The costs to watch are on the way out: an Interac e-Transfer cash-out is $1.50 and a direct bank deposit (EFT) is $4.99. Bitcoin withdrawals to your own wallet come in three lanes, a standard one at 0.00007 BTC, an express one at 0.00014 BTC and a flex lane at 0 BTC that takes up to 12 hours. If you stake, NDAX keeps 20% of the rewards.

Coinbase Fees

Coinbase has two ways to trade and they cost very different amounts. The simple buy screen charges a spread shown in the order preview plus a Coinbase fee that its Canadian disclosure puts at up to 1.875%, varying by payment method, and simple limit orders carry a separate 1% execution fee. Coinbase Advanced is the cheaper route and its page advertises fees as low as 0% maker, but the Canadian rate table sits behind a help page I could not load, so I will not quote a percentage. My rule: if you buy on Coinbase, use Advanced. Staking has a standard 35% commission.

  • NDAX0.20%
  • Coinbase1.875%

The bars show each platform's lowest published headline cost, not an all-in cost. Spread-based platforms hide part of the price in the quote.

On headline cost, NDAX is the cheaper of the two. NDAX: Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell. Coinbase: Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875%; Advanced Canada rate table not verified. Those numbers are not perfectly like for like, because a flat fee, a published spread and a tiered schedule are built differently, so treat the gap as direction, not a guarantee. Compare a live quote for your own amount before you buy.

Which Is Better For Funding And Withdrawing CAD?

NDAX

Putting CAD in is free. Interac e-Transfer lands in 0 to 30 minutes, wires take up to a business day, and you can also deposit crypto for free once the network confirms it. Taking CAD out costs a little: $1.50 by Interac e-Transfer with a $10,000 cap per transaction, or $4.99 for a direct bank deposit with no minimum or maximum. Neither fee is big, but they are real, so batch your cash-outs instead of sending small amounts often.

Coinbase

Funding is strong. Interac e-Transfer and EFT are free to add cash, an EFT bank transfer credits instantly and can buy directly, and a 3D Secure card, PayPal and wires are also supported. Coinbase does not publish minimums, and your bank's limits apply. Cashing out works by Interac e-Transfer and EFT, but the fee is not published: Coinbase's disclosure only says you may be charged a fee depending on the payment method.

Funding is close, since both support Interac e-Transfer in some form, but I cannot rank the cash-out side because Coinbase does not publish a comparable withdrawal fee.

Which Has More Coins?

NDAX Coins

NDAX does not publish an official Canadian coin count, so I use what its public API shows: 77 base assets across 90 running trading instruments. That covers Bitcoin, Ethereum and the large altcoins most Canadians actually buy. It is a smaller menu than the global exchanges, and there is no margin or derivatives trading for Canadians on the platform.

Coinbase Coins

Coinbase's Canadian site says you can trade 200+ assets, which is the largest menu among the Canadian-regulated platforms in this comparison. The machine-readable list I hold is global (406 online products) and not filtered for Canada, so I use the 200+ figure from the Canadian page. Under its restricted dealer terms, some altcoins carry annual purchase limits outside certain provinces, and newer investors can face a limit until their profile changes. Majors like Bitcoin and Ethereum are not capped.

Coinbase has the bigger menu. Coinbase: 200+ assets. NDAX: 77 base assets listed on its public API. If you want altcoins, that settles it.

Which Is Safer?

NDAX Safety

NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer member and on the CSA authorized list, which puts it in the top regulatory tier for a Canadian crypto platform. Its own security page describes cold and hot wallet storage, multi-signature authorization, MPC protection and regular security audits. I could not find an insurance dollar figure or a proof-of-reserves page on the pages I checked, so I do not quote one. Crypto is not covered by deposit insurance on any Canadian platform, so only keep on the exchange what you are happy to trade.

Coinbase Safety

Coinbase Canada is a Restricted Dealer rather than a CIRO member, and its user agreement says Canadian fiat balances are not protected by CIPF. Its security page says customer assets are held 1:1 and not lent without permission, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. I could not find an insurance dollar figure on the Canadian pages. Coinbase, Inc. was also registered with FINTRAC in December 2025.

NDAX sits in the higher regulatory tier, as a CIRO investment dealer member, while Coinbase is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. For a first-time buyer, that difference matters more than a small fee gap. Either way, crypto is not covered by deposit insurance.

Which App Is Easier To Use?

NDAX App And Support

NDAX has a deep help centre and a page for each coin, and its app is among the best rated of the Canadian exchanges: 4.75 on the Canadian App Store from 15,225 ratings and 4.7 on Google Play. On support, when I contacted the team I got a reply in about 20 minutes, which is quick. One quirk: adding NDAX as an Interac recipient in your banking app is a manual step, a bit clunkier than platforms that link to your bank directly.

Coinbase App And Support

Coinbase's app is the benchmark for beginner design: buy in a few taps on the simple screen, then graduate to Advanced when you care about fees. It rates 4.56 on the Canadian App Store from 65,030 ratings and 4.4 on Google Play. Support is the weak spot. Reaching a human who understands Canadian banking took patience: my own test took four days to get a real person. The help centre is fine for routine questions.

NDAX edges it on Canadian App Store rating, 4.75 against 4.56. A ratings gap that size is real but small, and the number of ratings behind each score differs a lot.

What Does A $1,000 Purchase Cost On NDAX And Coinbase?

This is plain arithmetic on the published percentages above, not a quote. Real prices move with the market, and platforms that build the spread into the price add a cost you only see by comparing quotes.

Cost Of A $1,000 Buy (From Published Fees)
PlatformPublished Cost On $1,000
NDAX$2.00 in trading fee (0.20% of $1,000)
Coinbaseup to $18.75 in Coinbase fee on a simple buy (1.875%), plus the spread shown in the order preview

How Do NDAX And Coinbase Compare On Limits And Restrictions?

NDAX Limits

NDAX has no minimum deposit stated on its fee page, and Interac cash-outs are capped at $10,000 per transaction, while bank EFT withdrawals have no stated minimum or maximum. It offers no derivatives or margin for Canadians. Staking is opt-in and Auto Earn rewards carry the same 20% administration fee.

Coinbase Limits

Coinbase does not publish minimum or maximum funding limits, so your bank's limits apply. As a restricted dealer, it applies annual net purchase caps to some altcoins outside certain provinces, and newer investors may face an annual limit until their profile changes. Derivatives launched for eligible Canadian investors on September 2, 2026 are aimed at qualified clients, not ordinary retail accounts.

What Extras Do NDAX And Coinbase Offer?

NDAX Extras

Beyond buying and selling, NDAX offers opt-in staking and Auto Earn, a Bitcoin network withdrawal choice of three speeds, and public coin pages. I found no sign-up bonus on its pages, so the case for NDAX is price and regulation, not promotions.

Coinbase Extras

Coinbase offers staking on ETH, ADA, SOL, ATOM and XTZ (up to 10% APY shown, with a standard 35% commission), recurring buys and a learn library. Its banner advertises up to $200 for getting started, but the qualifying action and the real average payout are not verified, so I do not promise it.

Can You Use Both NDAX And Coinbase?

Yes, and plenty of Canadians do. Nothing stops you holding an account on each. A common setup is to buy on whichever platform quotes the better price for the coin you want, then move long-term holdings to a wallet you control. If you split money across platforms, keep a simple record of every buy, sell and transfer. The CRA treats crypto as a commodity, whether your gains count as business income or capital gains depends on your situation, and clean records make tax time far easier. Transfers between your own accounts are not sales, but the fees on them can still matter.

What Are The Pros And Cons Of NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Flat 0.20% trading fee with no volume tiers
  • CIRO investment dealer member and on the CSA list
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and wire deposits
  • Cash out to your bank for $1.50 or $4.99
  • Opt-in staking
  • App rated 4.75 on the Canadian App Store

Cons

  • Smaller coin list than the global exchanges
  • Adding NDAX as an Interac recipient is a manual step
  • 20% administration fee on staking rewards
  • No margin or derivatives for Canadians
  • No sign-up bonus on file

Coinbase Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Largest coin menu here at 200+
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
  • CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces
  • Polished beginner app rated 4.56
  • Advanced screen offers a cheaper way to trade
  • Learn content for beginners

Cons

  • Simple buy costs up to 1.875% plus spread
  • Support can take days to reach a human
  • Fiat balances not covered by CIPF
  • Staking commission of 35%
  • Altcoin purchase limits may apply

Who Wins Each Category Between NDAX And Coinbase?

Here is the scorecard in one place. A winner is named only when both sides have a comparable verified number. Where one side does not publish it, the answer is Depends, and where the gap is too small to matter, it is a Tie.

Category Winners
CategoryWinner
Headline Trading CostNDAX
CAD Cash-Out CostDepends
Coin MenuCoinbase
Regulation TierNDAX
Canadian App Store RatingNDAX

What Should You Do Next?

  1. Decide what matters most to you: lowest cost, the widest coin menu, the strongest regulation or the simplest app.
  2. Open the platform that wins your category and read its fee page in full before you deposit.
  3. Start with a small first buy and a small test withdrawal, so you learn the flow with little at risk.
  4. Turn on two-factor authentication, and move long-term holdings to a wallet you control.

Who Should Choose NDAX, And Who Should Choose Coinbase?

Choose NDAX if you want the lowest published flat fee, cheap cash-outs to your bank and a CIRO-registered Canadian platform. It is a CIRO investment dealer member. Its strongest point: flat 0.20% trading fee with no volume tiers.

Visit NDAX Read My NDAX Review

Choose Coinbase if you want the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: largest coin menu here at 200+.

Visit Coinbase Read My Coinbase Review

Still undecided? The exchange quiz narrows it down in a minute, and my ranked list of the best crypto exchanges in Canada shows where both sit.

What Changed For NDAX And Coinbase In October 2026?

  • Coinbase launched regulated crypto derivatives for eligible Canadian investors through Coinbase Financial Markets. Retail clients are not the target.
  • The CSA issued an Amended Decision for Coinbase Canada Inc.
  • NDAX received its CSA decision and CIRO investment dealer membership.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is NDAX Or Coinbase Better For Beginners?

NDAX edges it on Canadian App Store rating, 4.75 against 4.56. A ratings gap that size is real but small, and the number of ratings behind each score differs a lot.

Beginners should also weigh regulation and cash-out costs, covered above.

Which Is Cheaper, NDAX Or Coinbase?

On headline cost, NDAX is the cheaper of the two. NDAX: Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell. Coinbase: Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875%; Advanced Canada rate table not verified. Those numbers are not perfectly like for like, because a flat fee, a published spread and a tiered schedule are built differently, so treat the gap as direction, not a guarantee. Compare a live quote for your own amount before you buy.

Are NDAX And Coinbase Regulated In Canada?

NDAX: CSA list (Decision December 19, 2024), CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSB.

Coinbase: CSA Restricted Dealer (Amended Decision April 1, 2026), FINTRAC MSB.

Does NDAX Or Coinbase Have More Coins?

Coinbase has the bigger menu. Coinbase: 200+ assets. NDAX: 77 base assets listed on its public API. If you want altcoins, that settles it.

Can I Fund NDAX And Coinbase With Interac E-Transfer?

NDAX: Interac e-Transfer free (0 to 30 minutes), wire free (0 to 1 business days).

Coinbase: Interac e-Transfer free, EFT free, card and PayPal also available.

Which Should I Pick, NDAX Or Coinbase?

Pick NDAX for the lowest published flat fee, cheap cash-outs to your bank and a CIRO-registered Canadian platform. Pick Coinbase for the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app.

Do NDAX And Coinbase Have Limit Orders?

NDAX: Limit orders are not confirmed here; NDAX is an exchange-style platform but I did not verify an order type list. Coinbase: Yes, on Coinbase Advanced with no spread; simple limit orders carry a 1% execution fee.

Which Coins Can You Buy On NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX: About 76 coins Coinbase: 200+

Is The Spread The Fee On NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX: NDAX charges a flat 0.20% fee, shown separately; confirm the quoted price in the order screen. Coinbase: Yes, simple buys include a spread on top of the Coinbase fee, shown in the order preview.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On NDAX Or Coinbase?

NDAX: CIPF covers CAD cash only; the user agreement says crypto is not eligible. Coinbase: CIPF never covers crypto, and Coinbase says Canadian fiat wallets are not covered either.

Are NDAX And Coinbase Available In Every Province?

NDAX: All provinces and territories, with possible investment limits on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. Coinbase: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 caps on non-major coins in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX: Not published. Coinbase: Coinbase says Interac arrives in up to 5 minutes, but it publishes no weekend rule; bank-side limits apply.

What Is The Minimum Buy On NDAX And Coinbase?

NDAX: Not published. Coinbase: Not published for Canada.

Can A Business Use NDAX Or Coinbase?

NDAX: Yes, legal-entity accounts exist and an OTC desk serves large trades. Coinbase: Business and institutional products exist at Coinbase, but Canadian business accounts are not verified.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!