In this comparison, we’re looking at two established crypto exchanges: NDAX and Gate.io. While NDAX is a Calgary-based platform holding the highest regulatory tier in Canada as a CIRO-registered investment dealer, Gate (rebranded to Gate.com in May 2025) is a global platform offering thousands of altcoins, but has listed Canada as a restricted jurisdiction since April 2022 and is not available to Canadian users.
NDAX Vs Gate.io: Which Is Better For Canadians?
NDAX wins by default for Canadians. Gate.io is an offshore exchange that is not registered in Canada and lists Canada as a restricted location in its user agreement. Since Gate.io no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
NDAX Vs Gate.io: Master Spec Table
NDAX
Gate.io
Winner
Company
National Digital Asset Exchange (Ndax Canada Inc.), Calgary, founded 2017. Reported founders Bilal Hammoud (CEO), Hussein Hammoud and Omar Abbas. Funding and staff: Not published.
Launched 2013, rebranded from Gate.io to Gate.com in May 2025. Legal entity for Canada: none. Founder, HQ and funding not verified on a primary page.
Depends
Regulation
CIRO investment dealer since 2024-12-19; CSA list yes. FINTRAC M18632135 to 2027-12-31. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto. AMF: Not verified.
Not on CSA authorized or banned list (2026-10-02). FINTRAC M20329002 (Gate Technology Corp.) expired 2023-05-31. No CIRO. No CIPF for crypto.
NDAX
Assets
About 76 coins on the public instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD. Order book: not verified. USDT status is conflicting and not stated.
2,053 base assets across 2,202 spot pairs (public API, 2026-10-02), none open to Canadians.
NDAX
Price
Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell, no tiers, no maker or taker split, as checked 2026-10-03. Crypto withdrawal flat fees apply. Staking admin fee 20%.
Spot base fee 0.2% per pair in the public API (2026-10-02). Irrelevant to Canadians.
NDAX
CAD In
Free: Interac e-Transfer (0 to 30 minutes) and wire (0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours). Crypto deposits free after confirmations.
No CAD funding. Canada is a restricted location, so Canadians cannot fund an account.
NDAX
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer CAD 1.50, CAD 10,000 per transaction, 0 to 30 minutes. EFT bank deposit CAD 4.99, no min or max, 0 to 1 business days. No free method.
No CAD withdrawal to a Canadian bank is published.
NDAX
Crypto In And Out
On-chain with several networks. BTC: Standard 0.00007 BTC (up to 4h), Express 0.00014 (instant), Flex free (up to 12h), as of 2026-10-01; fees are flat. No Lightning or Liquid found.
Not applicable to Canadians. No new account can be opened from Canada.
NDAX
Custody
Custodial. Majority in cold storage with BitGo and Coinbase Custody trust companies, segregated omnibus accounts; multisig, MPC, SOC 2 Type 2. No insurance figure or PoR found.
Custodial exchange. Whatever Canadian-held balances remain are not covered by CIPF or any Canadian regulator.
NDAX
Verification (KYC)
Full KYC: personal details and government ID, usually cleared within a day. Age of majority required. SIN and selfie: Not verified.
Not applicable to Canadians. Account creation is barred for Canada under the terms.
Depends
Account Types
Individual, joint (right of survivorship), legal entity, plus an OTC desk. TFSA and RRSP: Not found.
Not published
NDAX
Provinces
All provinces and territories. Investment limits may apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. Mobile app offers French (Canada).
0 of 13. The restriction names all of Canada, not a single province.
NDAX
Extra Products
Staking and Auto Earn (20% admin fee), OTC desk, API trading, instant internal and gift transfers. No card or loan found. Recurring buys and referral: Not verified.
Not applicable to Canadians.
NDAX
Tax Tools
CSV ledger reports from the Reports menu, and a Koinly API integration. No CRA-ready report.
Not verified
NDAX
App
Apple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews), 2026-10-01. Web app yes. French UI yes in the app. 2FA yes. Price alerts: Not verified.
Not applicable. Gate says it has no Canadian service;
NDAX
Support
Live chat, phone 1-833-727-6329, email support@ndax.io. Chat reported Mon to Fri 10am to midnight ET (secondary). French support: Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between NDAX And Gate.io?
NDAX Vs Gate.io: Side By Side
NDAX
Gate.io
Description
National Digital Asset Exchange (NDAX) is a Calgary-based exchange and one of the most regulated platforms in the country, a CIRO investment dealer since December 2024. It combines a beginner-friendly platform and highly rated app with one of the lowest flat fees in Canada.
Launched in 2013, Gate (formerly Gate.io, rebranded and moved to Gate.com in May 2025) is one of the largest cryptocurrency exchanges in the world. However, Canada is on the list of restricted locations in the Gate user agreement, alongside 30+ other jurisdictions. Gate has not served Canadians since earlier reports of Canadian accounts moving to withdrawal-only around April 2022, so we would not recommend trying to use it.
Coins
About 76 base assets on its public Canadian instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Cardano, Chainlink and Polkadot.
Past tense: 2,053 base assets across 2,202 tradable spot pairs (public API, 2026-10-02), none of them open to Canadians. USDT was never part of a Canadian offer.
Fees
Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell, with no volume tiers and no maker or taker split. CAD deposits by Interac e-Transfer and wire are free; Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 (CAD 10,000 per transaction) and EFT bank withdrawals CAD 4.99. Crypto withdrawals are flat amounts per network. Staking and Auto Earn rewards carry a 20% administration fee.
Past tense: spot base fee 0.2% per pair per the public API (2026-10-02), lower with volume. Free crypto deposits. CAD was never supported.
Pros
One flat 0.20% fee, no tiers
CIRO investment dealer with a CSA decision (2024-12-19)
About 76 coins, most paired directly with CAD
Free Interac and wire deposits
SOC 2 Type 2 audited
Staking, Auto Earn, OTC desk and API trading
Joint, entity and individual accounts
Koinly API integration
Thousands of altcoins were available
Advanced trading features and tools
Not available to Canadians, so none of this is usable
Cons
Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 and EFT CAD 4.99
Custodial, and crypto is not covered by CIPF
No insurance figure or proof of reserves published
Staking rewards carry a 20% administration fee
Investment limits can apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec
Interac withdrawal capped at CAD 10,000 per 24 hours
Whether USDT trades for Canadians is unclear and omitted
Not allowed in Canada, and no Canadian entity
Mandatory KYC means Canadians cannot sign up, and VPN workarounds risk frozen funds
CAD was never supported
Not beginner-friendly
Security
Custodial. The user agreement says the majority of assets are in cold storage with regulated trust-company custodians (BitGo Trust Company and Coinbase Custody Trust Company), in segregated omnibus accounts. Multi-signature and MPC, SOC 2 Type 2 audit. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto.
that claim was not confirmed here. Gate's FINTRAC MSB registration M20329002 (Gate Technology Corp.) expired 2023-05-31.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer (free, 0 to 30 minutes), wire transfer (free, 0 to 1 business days) or a crypto deposit.
Canadians cannot buy crypto on Gate. Account creation requires KYC, and restrictions are enforced based on the country on your ID, so even a VPN won't get you a working account, just one that can be frozen with your funds inside.
App
iOS and Android apps plus web; the app lists Francais (Canada). Apple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews) on 2026-10-01.
Not applicable to Canadians.
Account Limits
No deposit limits set by NDAX, your bank sets them; wire deposits show a CAD 10,000,000 monthly wallet limit in a help article. Interac withdrawals CAD 10,000 per transaction. EFT withdrawals have no minimum or maximum.
No longer applicable. n/a for Canadians, since accounts cannot be opened from Canada.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out NDAX And Gate.io In Canada?
NDAX: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Set by your bank
0 to 30 minutes
Wire transfer
Free
Not published
Set by your bank
0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
after network confirmations
NDAX: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
CAD 1.50
Not published
CAD 10,000 per transaction
0 to 30 minutes
Direct bank deposit (EFT)
CAD 4.99
No minimum
No maximum
0 to 1 business days
Bank-side Interac and wire limits apply. Account name must match your bank account. Weekend timing: Not published; wire speed is subject to bank hours. No CAD funding exists. Canada is a Restricted Location in user agreement clause 2.5. Whether any legacy Canadian account can still withdraw crypto is not stated on an official Gate page, so contact Gate support.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On NDAX?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
NDAX Buy
NDAX Round Trip
CAD 100
$0.20
$0.40
CAD 500
$1.00
$2.00
CAD 1,000
$2.00
$4.00
CAD 10,000
$20.00
$40.00
NDAX: Flat 0.20% of trade value on every buy and sell, no tiers (fees page checked 2026-10-03). Withdrawal fees are extra and flat. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do NDAX And Gate.io Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
NDAX Only
Staking and Auto Earn: Opt-in rewards on supported assets. NDAX keeps 20% of rewards as an administration fee; the homepage advertises staking up to 13% APY.
OTC desk: Over-the-counter trading for large orders; terms and minimums are not published on the pages I could open.
API trading: Programmatic trading API, and a public instrument feed that lists the coins available.
Internal transfers: Transfers between NDAX accounts, including gift transfers, settle instantly at no cost.
What Happens To Your Money If NDAX Or Gate.io Fails?
NDAX: NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer, so CIPF protects the CAD cash you hold there, but the user agreement says no virtual asset in your account is eligible for CIPF or CDIC protection. Most assets sit in cold storage with trust-company custodians in omnibus accounts, and NDAX has a SOC 2 Type 2 audit, but it publishes no insurance amount and no proof of reserves. A hack, a custodian failure or an insolvency can still hurt crypto balances. Withdraw to your own wallet if you hold coins for the long term.
Gate.io: Gate does not serve Canada, is not on the CSA list, holds no current FINTRAC registration and is not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto. A Canadian with a balance left on Gate has no regulator to appeal to, and the user agreement tells users in restricted locations to stop using the services and lets Gate restrict or close accounts at its discretion. Opening an account through a VPN risks a freeze.
How Are NDAX And Gate.io Treated For Tax In Canada?
NDAX: Each sale, swap and staking reward event is a disposition or income for CRA purposes, and staking rewards are income at the value received. NDAX provides CSV ledger reports and a Koinly API link but no CRA-ready report.
Gate.io: Any earlier trades or sales on Gate are dispositions for CRA purposes. Keep or export your full trade and transfer history while you still have access, because a restricted account may be closed.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, NDAX Or Gate.io?
Choose NDAX If
You want a low flat 0.20% fee and a wide list of CAD-paired coins.
You want a CIRO-registered exchange that lists dozens of CAD pairs.
You want staking, an OTC desk or API access.
You mostly buy and hold and rarely cash out, since CAD withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 to 4.99.
Choose Gate.io If
You want an altcoin-heavy exchange: Gate does not serve Canadians, so pick a registered Canadian platform with a deep coin list, such as Kraken.
What Happened To Gate.io?
Gate.io is an offshore exchange. It is not registered in Canada, it is not on the CSA authorized list and it is not on the banned list. Its user agreement lists Canada among its Restricted Locations, next to the United States, Mainland China, Singapore, France and Germany, so Canadians cannot use it under its own terms.
I found no CAD funding on Gate.io. FINTRAC lists Gate Technology Corp.'s MSB registration as expired on May 31, 2023, with no current registration found. Gate.io's public API shows 2,053 base assets across 2,202 tradable spot pairs and a base spot fee of 0.2%, but those numbers describe a service Canadians are not allowed to use.
Opening an account anyway would breach its terms, which risks a frozen account, and no Canadian investor protection would apply. I do not link to it.
Gate.io Status Summary
Detail
Status
Platform
Gate.io
Key Date
Oct 2, 2026
Status For Canadians
Off limits to Canadians
Sign-Up Link
None. I do not link to platforms Canadians cannot use.
What Is The Timeline For Gate.io?
Oct 2, 2026: I re-read the Gate.io user agreement: Canada is still a Restricted Location and Gate.io holds no Canadian registration.
Gate.io's draw was its enormous altcoin menu.
What Should Gate.io Users Use Instead?
Gate.io users in Canada should treat their account as at risk and move funds out. The registry's practical replacement for a Gate-style altcoin menu is Kraken, which is registered in Canada and has a deep coin list.
Kraken: The Registry Pick
Kraken in Canada is Payward Canada Inc., a Restricted Dealer registered with the Ontario Securities Commission and the securities regulators of every province and territory (CSA Decision April 1, 2025). It is also a FINTRAC-registered MSB, approved since 2019. It is the choice for people who start simple and want to move to cheaper, more serious trading later.
Kraken Pro is where the cheap trading lives: 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier, dropping to 0.30% and 0.60% above $2,500 of 30-day volume and 0.22% and 0.38% above $10,000. The simple Instant Buy costs 1% on instant and recurring trades and 1.5% on custom orders, plus a spread, and Convert Small Balances has a 3% fixed fee. Kraken Plus offers zero trading fees on up to US $10,000 of monthly volume for buy, sell and convert, though spread and card fees still apply. Bitcoin withdrawals cost 0.000015 BTC on the network.
Interac e-Transfer deposits are free with a $5 minimum and limits of $10,000 per transaction and per day, $30,000 a week and $100,000 a month. Wires are free, with a $13.74 intermediary bank fee noted, and take one to five business days. Debit cards cost 0.25 plus 3.75%, so avoid them. Withdrawing by Interac e-Transfer costs $10 under the same limits, which is the most expensive cash-out here.
Kraken is a Restricted Dealer, not a CIRO member (press reports say it intends to apply). Its Proof of Reserves snapshot for June 30, 2026 shows reserve ratios of 102.9% for BTC, 100.5% for ETH, 100.6% for SOL, 102.3% for XRP and 100.3% for ADA. That is one of the better transparency signals among the platforms here. Crypto is not covered by CIPF or CDIC.
NDAX, short for National Digital Asset Exchange, is a Calgary-based exchange run by Ndax Canada Inc. It is a CIRO investment dealer member (CIRO membership terms were imposed on December 19, 2024) and it sits on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians. It is also a FINTRAC-registered money services business, and it has been one of the cheaper places in the country to trade for years.
NDAX And Kraken Verified Facts
Detail
NDAX
Kraken
Trading Cost
Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell
Kraken Pro 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier; Instant Buy 1% plus spread
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free (0 to 30 minutes), wire free (0 to 1 business days)
Interac e-Transfer free ($5 minimum, $10,000 per transaction); wire free; debit card 0.25 plus 3.75%
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer $1.50 (up to $10,000 per transaction), EFT $4.99
Interac e-Transfer withdrawal $10
Coins
77 base assets listed on its public API
About 490 (derived estimate)
Regulation
CSA list (Decision December 19, 2024), CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSB
CSA Restricted Dealer (Decision April 1, 2025), FINTRAC MSB
Staking
Yes, opt-in, with a 20% administration fee on rewards
Yes, with exceptions (no Opt-in Rewards, no GRT or FLR staking)
App Ratings (Canada)
Apple 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7
Apple 4.62 (5,662 ratings), Google Play 4.2
Sign-Up Bonus
No sign-up bonus on file
No sign-up bonus on file
How Does NDAX Handle Fees, Funding And Coins?
Fees
NDAX charges one flat 0.20% fee on every buy and sell. There are no volume tiers and no maker and taker split, so a $100 trade and a $50,000 trade pay the same rate. That simplicity is the main reason I point cost-conscious Canadians at it. The costs to watch are on the way out: an Interac e-Transfer cash-out is $1.50 and a direct bank deposit (EFT) is $4.99. Bitcoin withdrawals to your own wallet come in three lanes, a standard one at 0.00007 BTC, an express one at 0.00014 BTC and a flex lane at 0 BTC that takes up to 12 hours. If you stake, NDAX keeps 20% of the rewards.
Funding
Putting CAD in is free. Interac e-Transfer lands in 0 to 30 minutes, wires take up to a business day, and you can also deposit crypto for free once the network confirms it. Taking CAD out costs a little: $1.50 by Interac e-Transfer with a $10,000 cap per transaction, or $4.99 for a direct bank deposit with no minimum or maximum. Neither fee is big, but they are real, so batch your cash-outs instead of sending small amounts often.
Coins
NDAX does not publish an official Canadian coin count, so I use what its public API shows: 77 base assets across 90 running trading instruments. That covers Bitcoin, Ethereum and the large altcoins most Canadians actually buy. It is a smaller menu than the global exchanges, and there is no margin or derivatives trading for Canadians on the platform.
Is NDAX Safe And Easy To Use?
NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer member and on the CSA authorized list, which puts it in the top regulatory tier for a Canadian crypto platform. Its own security page describes cold and hot wallet storage, multi-signature authorization, MPC protection and regular security audits. I could not find an insurance dollar figure or a proof-of-reserves page on the pages I checked, so I do not quote one. Crypto is not covered by deposit insurance on any Canadian platform, so only keep on the exchange what you are happy to trade.
NDAX has a deep help centre and a page for each coin, and its app is among the best rated of the Canadian exchanges: 4.75 on the Canadian App Store from 15,225 ratings and 4.7 on Google Play. On support, when I contacted the team I got a reply in about 20 minutes, which is quick. One quirk: adding NDAX as an Interac recipient in your banking app is a manual step, a bit clunkier than platforms that link to your bank directly.
What Limits And Extras Does NDAX Have?
NDAX has no minimum deposit stated on its fee page, and Interac cash-outs are capped at $10,000 per transaction, while bank EFT withdrawals have no stated minimum or maximum. It offers no derivatives or margin for Canadians. Staking is opt-in and Auto Earn rewards carry the same 20% administration fee.
Beyond buying and selling, NDAX offers opt-in staking and Auto Earn, a Bitcoin network withdrawal choice of three speeds, and public coin pages. I found no sign-up bonus on its pages, so the case for NDAX is price and regulation, not promotions.
On a $1,000 buy at NDAX, the published cost works out to $2.00 in trading fee (0.20% of $1,000).
How Do You Check A Platform Before Moving Money?
Do four things before you send a dollar to any platform. First, look it up on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians and on the banned list. Second, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status and expiry date. Third, read the terms for any clause that restricts Canadian residents. Fourth, send a small test deposit and a small test withdrawal before you move real money. A platform that fails any one of the four is not worth the risk, however good its fees look.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of NDAX?
Pros
Flat 0.20% trading fee with no volume tiers
CIRO investment dealer member and on the CSA list
Free Interac e-Transfer and wire deposits
Cash out to your bank for $1.50 or $4.99
Opt-in staking
App rated 4.75 on the Canadian App Store
Cons
Smaller coin list than the global exchanges
Adding NDAX as an Interac recipient is a manual step
20% administration fee on staking rewards
No margin or derivatives for Canadians
No sign-up bonus on file
Should You Open An Account With NDAX?
Choose NDAX if you want the lowest published flat fee, cheap cash-outs to your bank and a CIRO-registered Canadian platform. It is a CIRO investment dealer member. Gate.io was a platform people compared it with, and since Canada is a restricted location for Gate.io that comparison no longer has a second option to weigh.
What Changed For Gate.io And NDAX In October 2026?
I re-read the Gate.io user agreement: Canada is still a Restricted Location and Gate.io holds no Canadian registration.
NDAX received its CSA decision and CIRO investment dealer membership.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Gate.io Legal In Canada?
Gate.io is not registered in Canada, and its own user agreement lists Canada as a restricted location.
Can Canadians Use Gate.io?
Not under its terms. Opening an account anyway breaches them and risks a frozen account.
What Is A Gate.io Alternative For Canadians?
Kraken is registered in Canada and has a deep altcoin list, which is the closest practical replacement.
Is NDAX Better Than Gate.io Today?
NDAX is available to Canadians and Gate.io is off limits to Canadians, so for a new account the answer is NDAX.
What Does NDAX Cost To Trade On?
Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell. Interac e-Transfer free (0 to 30 minutes), wire free (0 to 1 business days).
Is NDAX Regulated In Canada?
NDAX: CSA list (Decision December 19, 2024), CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSB.
Do NDAX And Gate.io Have Limit Orders?
NDAX: Limit orders are not confirmed here; NDAX is an exchange-style platform but I did not verify an order type list. Gate.io: Not applicable, Canadians cannot use Gate.
Which Coins Can You Buy On NDAX And Gate.io?
NDAX: About 76 coins Gate.io: 2,053 base assets, none open to Canadians
Is The Spread The Fee On NDAX And Gate.io?
NDAX: NDAX charges a flat 0.20% fee, shown separately; confirm the quoted price in the order screen. Gate.io: Not applicable.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On NDAX Or Gate.io?
NDAX: CIPF covers CAD cash only; the user agreement says crypto is not eligible. Gate.io: CIPF never covers crypto, and Gate is not a CIPF member.
Are NDAX And Gate.io Available In Every Province?
NDAX: All provinces and territories, with possible investment limits on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. Gate.io: None, Canada is a Restricted Location.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On NDAX And Gate.io?
NDAX: Not published. Gate.io: No Interac e-Transfer, CAD was never supported.
What Is The Minimum Buy On NDAX And Gate.io?
NDAX: Not published. Gate.io: Not applicable.
Can A Business Use NDAX Or Gate.io?
NDAX: Yes, legal-entity accounts exist and an OTC desk serves large trades. Gate.io: Not applicable, Canada is a Restricted Location.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.