Warning: CoinField is not a legitimate operating exchange. The platform stopped serving Canadians in mid-2023, left customer withdrawal requests unfulfilled, and in 2025 Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal permanently banned it and ordered over $3 million in combined penalties, disgorgement and costs for unregistered trading, illegal distribution and misleading investors. CoinField did not participate in the proceedings. Scam impostor sites now operate under the CoinField name, if you find a site accepting deposits as "CoinField," it is a fraud. If you were a CoinField customer with unmet withdrawals, report your experience to the OSC. Netcoins is the only legitimate option here.
The crypto landscape in Canada is vast and varied. Netcoins and CoinField once stood as distinct exchanges serving Canadians. Netcoins is a fully operational CSA Restricted Dealer backed by publicly traded BIGG Digital Assets. CoinField is not: it collapsed in 2023, was permanently banned in 2025, and is now primarily relevant as a cautionary tale about the importance of using regulated Canadian exchanges.
Netcoins Vs Coinfield: Which Is Better For Canadians?
Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. Coinfield shut down in 2023, and in January 2025 Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal permanently banned its operators and ordered a CAD 2.4 million penalty. Since Coinfield no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.
How Do Netcoins And Coinfield Compare, Fact By Fact?
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs Coinfield: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
Coinfield
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Manticore Labs OU (Estonia, operating as Coinfield) and Manticore Labs Inc. Platform began 2018. Founders and funding: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
FINTRAC: Manticore Labs OU M22092923 Revoked 2023-11-10; M20735914 Ceased 2021-10-27; CFX Labs Corp. M18747690 Ceased 2019-10-15. Permanent Ontario market ban 2025-01-30. Not on CSA banned page.
Netcoins
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
About 20 coins offered, including BTC, ETH, XRP, XLM and USDT.
Netcoins
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Maker 0.15%, taker 0.25%, plus 2% Interac deposit and 2.5% Interac withdrawal fees.
Netcoins
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Interac e-Transfer deposits cost 2%.
Netcoins
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Interac withdrawals cost 2.5%. The platform shut down without meeting all customer withdrawal requests.
Netcoins
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Claimed cold storage and multi-signature. The tribunal found assets were insufficient to meet withdrawals. At least 1,275 Ontario clients held about CAD 2.5M at end of 2022.
Netcoins
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
No longer available to Canadians
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Extra Products
Not verified
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
Offline since 2023.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Coinfield?
Netcoins Vs Coinfield: Side By Side
Netcoins
Coinfield
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
CoinField was an Estonia-based cryptocurrency exchange, operated by Manticore Labs OU, that served Canadians from 2018 until its collapse. It shut down in 2023 without meeting all customer withdrawal requests, and in January 2025 Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal permanently banned its operators from Ontario's capital markets and ordered a penalty of about CAD 2.4 million for unregistered trading and misleading investors.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
Around 20 coins including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Stellar and USDT, but without popular assets like Cardano, Solana and Dogecoin.
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
CoinField charged a 2% Interac e-Transfer deposit fee, a 2.5% Interac withdrawal fee, and 0.15% maker and 0.25% taker fees, which were high compared to competitors.
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
None. The platform no longer exists, and there is no legitimate way to open a CoinField account.
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Shut down in 2023 with customer withdrawal requests left unfulfilled
Found by Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal to have engaged in unregistered trading, illegal distribution and misleading investors
Permanently banned in Ontario, with a CAD 2.4 million penalty plus disgorgement ordered in 2025
The tribunal found it lacked sufficient crypto assets in custody to satisfy withdrawals while telling customers otherwise
Scam websites impersonate the CoinField name
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
CoinField marketed itself as a secure exchange using cold storage, multi-signature wallets and encryption. The regulatory record says otherwise: customer funds were not safe. It is a textbook case for holding your own coins in your own wallet.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
There is no way to buy crypto through CoinField. A website claiming to be CoinField and accepting deposits is a scam: the OSC warned about an impostor site using the name.
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
CoinField's website and apps went offline in 2023 and have not returned.
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
No longer applicable.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Coinfield In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
Coinfield: CAD Deposits (When It Operated)
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
2%
Not published
Not published
Not published
Coinfield: CAD Withdrawals (When It Operated)
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
2.5%
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not verified Platform closed in 2023. Never send funds to a site using the CoinField name.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And Coinfield Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Coinfield Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
Coinfield: Coinfield is the failure case: the platform shut in 2023 without meeting customer withdrawal requests, and the tribunal found it lacked the crypto assets to satisfy them. The sanctions are a permanent Ontario market ban, a CAD 2.4M penalty, CAD 537,034.46 disgorgement and CAD 89,538 costs. No CIPF or other scheme covers crypto, so affected customers should watch for official notices and ignore anyone offering paid recovery.
How Are Netcoins And Coinfield Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
Coinfield: Trades on Coinfield were dispositions for CRA purposes. Keep your records, and speak to an accountant about any crypto you could not withdraw. Export formats: Not published.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Coinfield?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose Coinfield If
You want a registered platform that serves Canadians today: Coinbase is our number one replacement, with free Interac e-Transfer funding and a Canadian restricted dealer registration.
What Happened To Coinfield?
Coinfield shut down in 2023. In January 2025, Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal permanently banned its operators from Ontario's markets and ordered a $2.4 million administrative penalty, plus disgorgement of $537,034.46 and costs of $89,538.
Coinfield was an unregistered operator run by Manticore Labs OU of Estonia (with Manticore Labs Inc.). It began in 2018, and at the end of 2022 it had at least 1,275 Ontario clients holding about $2.5 million. The tribunal found it failed to let Ontario users withdraw.
FINTRAC shows the registration of Manticore Labs OU (Coinfield) as revoked on November 10, 2023. I could not find an exact shutdown date. Coinfield is not on the CSA banned list page, but the tribunal decision is a permanent ban in Ontario.
Coinfield Status Summary
Detail
Status
Platform
Coinfield
Key Date
2023
Status For Canadians
Closed and banned
Sign-Up Link
None. I do not link to platforms Canadians cannot use.
What Is The Timeline For Coinfield?
Nov 10, 2023:FINTRAC revoked the MSB registration of Manticore Labs OU (Coinfield).
Jan 30, 2025: Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal issued its sanctions decision against Coinfield's operators.
Coinfield was an unregistered Estonia-based operator that served Ontario clients and failed to let them withdraw.
What Should Coinfield Users Use Instead?
Any money still on Coinfield is a matter for the tribunal's orders and the authorities, not for the platform. Do not send anything to anyone offering to recover it for a fee. For a safe place to hold crypto, the registry points to NDAX, a registered Canadian platform with Interac funding.
NDAX: The Registry Pick
NDAX, short for National Digital Asset Exchange, is a Calgary-based exchange run by Ndax Canada Inc. It is a CIRO investment dealer member (CIRO membership terms were imposed on December 19, 2024) and it sits on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians. It is also a FINTRAC-registered money services business, and it has been one of the cheaper places in the country to trade for years.
NDAX charges one flat 0.20% fee on every buy and sell. There are no volume tiers and no maker and taker split, so a $100 trade and a $50,000 trade pay the same rate. That simplicity is the main reason I point cost-conscious Canadians at it. The costs to watch are on the way out: an Interac e-Transfer cash-out is $1.50 and a direct bank deposit (EFT) is $4.99. Bitcoin withdrawals to your own wallet come in three lanes, a standard one at 0.00007 BTC, an express one at 0.00014 BTC and a flex lane at 0 BTC that takes up to 12 hours. If you stake, NDAX keeps 20% of the rewards.
Putting CAD in is free. Interac e-Transfer lands in 0 to 30 minutes, wires take up to a business day, and you can also deposit crypto for free once the network confirms it. Taking CAD out costs a little: $1.50 by Interac e-Transfer with a $10,000 cap per transaction, or $4.99 for a direct bank deposit with no minimum or maximum. Neither fee is big, but they are real, so batch your cash-outs instead of sending small amounts often.
NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer member and on the CSA authorized list, which puts it in the top regulatory tier for a Canadian crypto platform. Its own security page describes cold and hot wallet storage, multi-signature authorization, MPC protection and regular security audits. I could not find an insurance dollar figure or a proof-of-reserves page on the pages I checked, so I do not quote one. Crypto is not covered by deposit insurance on any Canadian platform, so only keep on the exchange what you are happy to trade.
Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.
Netcoins And NDAX Verified Facts
Detail
Netcoins
NDAX
Trading Cost
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
Flat 0.20% on every buy and sell
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)
Interac e-Transfer free (0 to 30 minutes), wire free (0 to 1 business days)
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000
Interac e-Transfer $1.50 (up to $10,000 per transaction), EFT $4.99
Coins
65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
CSA list (Decision December 19, 2024), CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSB
Staking
Not verified in my sources
Yes, opt-in, with a 20% administration fee on rewards
App Ratings (Canada)
Not checked
Apple 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7
Sign-Up Bonus
No sign-up bonus on file
No sign-up bonus on file
How Does Netcoins Handle Fees, Funding And Coins?
Fees
Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.
Funding
Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.
Coins
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.
Is Netcoins Safe And Easy To Use?
Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.
Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.
What Limits And Extras Does Netcoins Have?
Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.
Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.
On a $1,000 buy at Netcoins, the cost is not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published.
How Do You Check A Platform Before Moving Money?
Do four things before you send a dollar to any platform. First, look it up on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians and on the banned list. Second, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status and expiry date. Third, read the terms for any clause that restricts Canadian residents. Fourth, send a small test deposit and a small test withdrawal before you move real money. A platform that fails any one of the four is not worth the risk, however good its fees look.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins?
Pros
On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
65 coins on the official fee page
No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027
Cons
Spread percentage is not published
Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
No advanced trading tools
Should You Open An Account With Netcoins?
Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer, and it is open to new Canadian accounts today.
What Changed For Coinfield And Netcoins In October 2026?
The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal issued its sanctions decision against Coinfield's operators.
FINTRAC revoked the MSB registration of Manticore Labs OU (Coinfield).
Frequently Asked Questions
What Happened To Coinfield?
Coinfield shut down in 2023. In January 2025, Ontario's Capital Markets Tribunal permanently banned its operators and ordered a $2.4 million penalty.
Is Coinfield Safe To Use?
No. It no longer operates, and the tribunal found it failed to let Ontario users withdraw.
Can I Recover Money From Coinfield?
There is no working platform to log in to. Be wary of recovery services that charge fees, and follow the tribunal's published orders.
Is Netcoins Better Than Coinfield Today?
Netcoins is available to Canadians and Coinfield is closed and banned, so for a new account the answer is Netcoins.
What Does Netcoins Cost To Trade On?
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published). Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.