Keystone 3 Pro signs transactions over QR codes with no network connection; the Trezor Safe 7 uses Bluetooth and USB with a three-chip design. The honest difference: Keystone is cheaper and air-gapped but slower to use, Trezor is faster and has the bigger ecosystem.
Keystone Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 7 is the better pick because it scores 9.6 against 8.2 on my list.
What Happens If You Lose Your Keystone 3 Pro Or Trezor Safe 7?
Keystone 3 Pro: The maker does not publish its backup method clearly, so check it before you fund the wallet. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 1 security issue is on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-04-01 (Keystone 3 Pro USB SDK flaw).
Trezor Safe 7: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir). Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
Which Is More Secure, Keystone Or Trezor?
The core difference is how the wallet talks to the outside world. Keystone's flagship, the Keystone 3 Pro, is air-gapped: you sign by scanning QR codes with its camera and showing QR codes back, so there is no network path at all. It carries three secure element chips (the models are not named on the page I fetched), PCI-grade self-destruct tamper resistance, a fingerprint sensor and a 4 inch touchscreen. Keystone calls the device 100% open source.
The Trezor Safe 7 is not air-gapped. It speaks Bluetooth, USB-C and charges on Qi2, and it counters that with three chips from three vendors (TROPIC01, an EAL6+ Optiga element and an STM32U5), open-source firmware with signed binaries, and a 2.5 inch colour touchscreen.
Both have a disclosed flaw on record. In April 2026 a Keystone 3 Pro USB SDK flaw was found by Keystone and OneKey's Anzen team. It needs physical possession, the PIN, an unlocked device, user approval and an attacker's computer; neither party found attacks on users. Keystone shipped firmware v2.4.0 on April 1 and a joint advisory followed in July, and signing over QR avoids the USB path entirely (joint advisory). On Trezor's side, a June 3, 2026 laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip needs possession and lab equipment, and Trezor says funds and backup are not exposed (Trezor's response).
Which Is Easier To Use?
Trezor is. Plug in or pair by Bluetooth, open Trezor Suite on desktop or phone, and you are moving coins in minutes of clicking. Full iOS support is built in on the Safe 7.
Keystone asks you to pair with a software wallet that does the watching: MetaMask, OKX Wallet, Rabby, Backpack, UniSat and others are listed, and it works with 100+ wallets. Every transaction is a scan, sign, scan loop. People who like air-gapped setups love that. People who just want to send some ETH find it slow. Backup details and passphrase support are not stated on the Keystone pages I checked, so read the manual before you commit funds.
Which Supports More Coins?
Keystone advertises multi-coin firmware for all major cryptocurrencies, or a Bitcoin-only firmware you can switch to. Trezor says thousands of coins and tokens and 30+ third-party wallet apps. Neither gave me an exact coin count I could verify, so I will not compare numbers. If you only hold Bitcoin, the Keystone Bitcoin-only firmware is a clean option. If you hold a wide mix, Trezor's own list is easier to browse. I keep XRP on my Trezor and Tangem setup; check Trezor Suite for the exact XRP entry before you buy.
Which Costs Less In Canada?
Keystone 3 Pro is USD 149, and a bundle pack is USD 232.90. The Safe 7 is USD 249. Keystone's shipping-regions page lists Canada with insured shipping of 10 to 15 days. Trezor's shop converts to the delivery country's currency and lists Amazon Canada as a reseller. Duty rate for either is unknown to me, so use the CBSA courier thresholds as a guide: from the US or Mexico, up to CAD 40 is duty and tax free, CAD 40 to 150 is duty free with taxes, and above CAD 150 duties and taxes apply.
Keystone 3 Pro Vs Trezor Safe 7: Quick Buying Facts
Item
Keystone 3 Pro
Trezor Safe 7
Price
USD 149
USD 249
Signing
QR codes, air-gapped
Bluetooth, USB-C
Screen
4 inch touchscreen
2.5 inch touchscreen
Canada shipping
10 to 15 days insured
Amazon Canada reseller
Keystone has a code from me: 5% off with my code OCryptoCanada.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Withdrawals work the same as for any self-custody wallet. On Coinbase, tick "Sending to myself" when the wallet is yours. On Kraken, a CAD 1,000+ withdrawal brings up a Travel Rule pop-up, and sending to a third party is not allowed. Under FINTRAC's rule, in force since June 1, 2021, platforms must carry originator and beneficiary details on those transfers. Between your own wallets there is no taxable disposition per the CRA. See my Coinbase review and Kraken for Canadians.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose the Keystone 3 Pro if air-gapped QR signing is the point, you use MetaMask or a Bitcoin desktop wallet and you want to be able to inspect open code. Choose the Trezor Safe 7 if you want a wallet that just works with a standard backup, a passphrase and a bigger ecosystem. My top pick is Trezor; Keystone sits outside my top 7. Reviews: Trezor Safe 7 and Keystone 3 Pro. Wider picks live in the best crypto wallets in Canada list.
Trezor responds to a laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip in the Safe 7.
Keystone ships firmware v2.4.0 for the 3 Pro USB flaw.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Keystone Wallet Good?
The Keystone 3 Pro is a solid air-gapped, open-source wallet with a 4 inch touchscreen and fingerprint sensor, USD 149. It had a USB SDK flaw fixed in firmware v2.4.0 on April 1, 2026; QR signing avoids that path. Its backup and passphrase details were not on the pages I checked.
What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?
No single wallet owns the title. My top 7 starts with the Trezor Safe 7, which is open source and has a screen. Keystone sits outside my top 7.
Which One Is Better, Trezor Or Ledger?
I rank the Trezor Safe 7 first and the Ledger Flex third. Trezor publishes open firmware; Ledger does not claim fully open source. See my Ledger Vs Trezor page.
Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?
Trezor lists thousands of coins and tokens, but its product page does not name XRP. Check Trezor Suite. I keep XRP in my own Trezor and Tangem setup.
Does Keystone Ship To Canada?
Yes. Keystone's shipping-regions page lists Canada with insured shipping of 10 to 15 days. Duties are on the buyer.
Which Is Cheaper, The Keystone 3 Pro Or The Trezor Safe 7?
Is The Keystone 3 Pro Or The Trezor Safe 7 Open Source?
Keystone 3 Pro: yes: 'Open Source Pioneer', 100% open source air-gapped cold wallet (software and hardware per the 3 Pro blurb). Trezor Safe 7: yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub.
Do The Keystone 3 Pro And The Trezor Safe 7 Ship To Canada?
Keystone 3 Pro: Ships to Canada. Trezor Safe 7: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.