OneKey Vs Tangem: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 3, 2026

OneKey Pro is a USD 278 open-source touchscreen, and Tangem is a seedless card set from USD 54.90. Tangem is simpler and cheaper, but its cards cannot be patched against July's lab laser attack.

OneKey Vs Tangem: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, the Tangem Wallet is the better pick because it scores 9.4 against 9.0 on my list.

OneKey Pro

9.0/10#4 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Tangem Wallet

9.4/10#2 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
OneKey ProTangem Wallet
My Standing9.0 /10 #4 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada9.4 /10 #2 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada
PriceUSD 278 (shown in USD); free shipping advertised2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor)
Secure Elementfour EAL 6+ secure elementsEAL6+ certified chip, Samsung-developed per Tangem; IP69K
Screen3.5 inch IPS colour multi-touch screen, 480 x 800, tempered glass; fingerprint sensor; camera for QRno screen; tap card to phone over NFC, access code or biometrics in the app
ConnectionUSB-C, Bluetooth, NFC and air-gapped QR signing; Qi2 wireless chargingNFC only (no battery, no cable)
Open Sourceyes: firmware and apps open source and reproducible on GitHub, independent audits incl. SlowMistapp: open source on GitHub; card firmware: not stated as open source
Backup24-word recovery phrase with optional passphrase; hidden wallet via secondary PINSeedless by design: extra cards back each other up (2 or 3 card sets); a 12-word seed is optional for advanced users
Coins30,000+ coins and tokens across 100+ chains14,100+ assets across 90+ networks

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians for the full ranking.

How Do The OneKey Pro And Tangem Wallet Compare, Spec By Spec?

Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.

OneKey Pro Vs Tangem Wallet: Master Spec Table
OneKey ProTangem WalletWinner
MakerOneKeyTangemDepends
My Score And Rank9.0/10, #4 on my list9.4/10, #2 on my listTangem Wallet
PriceUSD 278 (shown in USD); free shipping advertised2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor)Tangem Wallet
Buying In CanadaShips to Canadayes: Canada listed with Standard delivery 4-11 business days, USD 16.00 shipping; free standard shipping on orders over USD 100 (VAT excluded)Depends
Secure Elementfour EAL 6+ secure elementsEAL6+ certified chip, Samsung-developed per Tangem; IP69KDepends
Open Sourceyes: firmware and apps open source and reproducible on GitHub, independent audits incl. SlowMistapp: open source on GitHub; card firmware: not stated as open sourceOneKey Pro
Screen And Input3.5 inch IPS colour multi-touch screen, 480 x 800, tempered glass; fingerprint sensor; camera for QRno screen; tap card to phone over NFC, access code or biometrics in the appDepends
ConnectionUSB-C, Bluetooth, NFC and air-gapped QR signing; Qi2 wireless chargingNFC only (no battery, no cable)Depends
Backup And Recovery24-word recovery phrase with optional passphrase; hidden wallet via secondary PINSeedless by design: extra cards back each other up (2 or 3 card sets); a 12-word seed is optional for advanced usersDepends
PassphraseyesNot publishedDepends
Coins30,000+ coins and tokens across 100+ chains14,100+ assets across 90+ networksOneKey Pro
AppOneKey app (mobile and desktop)free Tangem mobile appDepends
Bitcoin-Only OptionOneKey lists 'Bitcoin-Only Support' as a feature on the Pro pageno (not offered)Depends
Battery530 mAh; battery passed UN38.3 certification (blog dated 2026-09-21)none (powered by phone NFC)Depends
Security Record1 documented; latest 2023-02-14: CVE-2023-25758 physical man-in-the-middle on Mini and Touch2 documented; latest 2026-07-09: Ledger Donjon laser attack on Tangem cardsDepends
Sources For This Table

What Happens If You Lose Your OneKey Pro Or Tangem Wallet?

OneKey Pro: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 24-word recovery phrase with optional passphrase; hidden wallet via secondary PIN. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 1 security issue is on record for the maker, the latest on 2023-02-14 (CVE-2023-25758 physical man-in-the-middle on Mini and Touch).

Tangem Wallet: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: Seedless by design: extra cards back each other up (2 or 3 card sets); a 12-word seed is optional for advanced users. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 2 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-07-09 (Ledger Donjon laser attack on Tangem cards).

How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?

Price And Shipping To Canada
WalletOfficial PriceShipping To Canada
OneKey ProUSD 278 (shown in USD); free shipping advertisedShips to Canada
Tangem Wallet2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor)yes: Canada listed with Standard delivery 4-11 business days, USD 16.00 shipping; free standard shipping on orders over USD 100 (VAT excluded)

CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.

Which Is More Secure, OneKey Or Tangem?

OneKey Pro and Tangem sit at ranks four and two on my list, and they could hardly be more different. OneKey Pro is a USD 278 touchscreen with four EAL6+ secure elements and a fingerprint sensor. Tangem is a set of NFC cards starting at USD 54.90, seedless by design, with an EAL6+ chip said to be Samsung-developed and an IP69K rating. OneKey also sells the Classic 1S, and Tangem sells a Ring.

OneKey's firmware and apps are open source and reproducible on GitHub, with independent audits including SlowMist. Tangem's app is open source but the card firmware is not stated as open source. OneKey Pro has a 24 word phrase with optional passphrase and a hidden wallet through a secondary PIN. Tangem has no seed by default: extra cards back each other up, though advanced users can opt into a 12 word seed.

Records matter more here. In July 2026 Ledger Donjon used a laser pulse on a Tangem card's secure element to set the card's access password to its own value. It affects all cards in circulation, needs physical possession and about $250,000 of lab gear, and Donjon says cards have no firmware update path so it cannot be patched (Donjon). Tangem has published its own stance on its security page, and Ledger is a competitor. In 2024 a Tangem app bug logged a private key for users who activated with a seed phrase and emailed support; Tangem says it affected under 0.1% of users with no funds lost. Tangem has audits from Riscure (2023) and Cure53 (2026).

OneKey's only dated item is a 2023 physical man-in-the-middle flaw on the Mini and Touch, not the Pro, which the NVD entry says the vendor patched. I found no OneKey data breach. OneKey says it is backed by Coinbase Ventures and Binance Labs (YZi Labs). For what it is worth, I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card.

Which Is Easier To Use?

Tangem is the easiest wallet I know to explain: tap a card to your phone, and use the free Tangem app with an access code or biometrics. It has no screen, no battery and no cable. OneKey Pro has a 3.5 inch IPS multi-touch screen at 480 x 800, a camera for QR, USB-C, Bluetooth, NFC and Qi2 wireless charging, and a 530 mAh battery. It is a full device with a screen showing what you sign, which Tangem cannot match. Tangem wins on simplicity, OneKey on visibility.

Which Supports More Coins?

OneKey says 30,000+ coins and tokens across 100+ chains. Tangem says 14,100+ assets across 90+ networks. Both are large, so look up your specific coin rather than trusting either headline. OneKey lists Bitcoin-only support as a Pro feature, and Tangem offers no Bitcoin-only firmware.

Which Costs Less In Canada?

OneKey and Tangem: price and buying in Canada
ItemOneKeyTangem
Price As The Maker Shows ItUSD 278; free shipping advertised2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90
Shipping To CanadaCanada listed with a 10-day delivery estimateCanada listed at 4 to 11 business days, USD 16 shipping, free over USD 100
Canadian ResellersNo Canadian reseller listedNo Canadian reseller listed

The cheapest Tangem set is roughly a fifth of OneKey Pro's price, and Tangem's Canadian shipping costs USD 16, free on orders over USD 100. My code OCRYPTOCANADA takes 10% off a Tangem order. OneKey ships to Canada with a 10 day estimate.

How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Both take transfers from any exchange. Withdraw from Wealthsimple up to CA$10,000 a day after a selfie check (test small first), or from Shakepay, whose normal sends take 1 to 12 hours with Shakepay covering the fee. Moving coins between your own wallets is not taxable per the CRA. See crypto taxation in Canada.

Which Should You Choose?

Choose Tangem if you want the simplest cold storage, a cheap multi-card backup set and a lot of coins, and you accept the lab-only laser attack disclosed in July 2026.

Visit Tangem Read My Tangem Review

Choose OneKey Pro if you want a large screen showing every transaction, open-source reproducible firmware, air-gapped QR option and a fingerprint sensor, and the higher price does not bother you.

Visit OneKey Pro Read My OneKey Pro Review

Next, compare Tangem against Ledger or see the best crypto wallets in Canada.

What Has Happened With OneKey And Tangem?

  • : OneKey said the OneKey Pro battery (530 mAh) passed UN38.3 transport certification. OneKey blog
  • : Ledger Donjon published a laser attack on Tangem cards that needs physical possession and lab equipment.
  • : Tangem reported a Cure53 audit of its mobile wallet.
  • : Tangem disclosed and fixed the app log issue that recorded a private key for some seed-phrase users.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?

I judge by openness and how problems are handled. My ranking has the Trezor Safe 7 first, Tangem second and OneKey Pro fourth. None has a spotless record.

What Are The Top 3 Crypto Wallets?

My top three are the Trezor Safe 7, Tangem Wallet and Ledger Flex. OneKey Pro is fourth. This is my own ranking after testing, not a lab score.

Is Tangem Really Secure?

Tangem uses an EAL6+ chip, has audits from Riscure (2023) and Cure53 (2026), and has no seed by default. But in July 2026 Ledger Donjon showed a laser attack that needs physical possession and about $250,000 of lab gear, and Donjon says it cannot be patched. For most people the practical risk is losing cards, so keep a backup card.

Is Tangem Wallet Better Than Ledger?

Tangem is simpler and cheaper, and Ledger shows transactions on a screen and has Canadian retail. I rank Tangem second and the Ledger Flex third. See Tangem vs Ledger.

Does Tangem Ship To Canada?

Yes. Tangem lists Canada at 4 to 11 business days with USD 16 standard shipping, free over USD 100. Prices exclude taxes and duties, so local fees may apply.

Which Is Cheaper, The OneKey Pro Or The Tangem Wallet?

OneKey Pro: USD 278 (shown in USD); free shipping advertised. Tangem Wallet: 2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor).

Is The OneKey Pro Or The Tangem Wallet Open Source?

OneKey Pro: yes: firmware and apps open source and reproducible on GitHub, independent audits incl. SlowMist. Tangem Wallet: app: open source on GitHub; card firmware: not stated as open source.

Do The OneKey Pro And The Tangem Wallet Ship To Canada?

OneKey Pro: Ships to Canada. Tangem Wallet: yes: Canada listed with Standard delivery 4-11 business days, USD 16.00 shipping; free standard shipping on orders over USD 100 (VAT excluded).

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!