Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Foundation Passport Review 2026: Is It Worth It For Canadians?

Last updated October 3, 2026

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Foundation Passport today means the Passport Prime, a Bitcoin signing device from Foundation Devices that also doubles as a FIDO security key, a 2FA code holder and an encrypted vault. Foundation lists it at USD 349, and its operating system, KeyOS, is open source. I do not rank it in my top 7 hardware wallets for Canadians, because it only handles Bitcoin keys and Foundation's pages did not state shipping to Canada. The original Passport is no longer sold.

  • Best for: Bitcoin holders who want open-source firmware and a device that does more than sign transactions
  • Skip it if: you hold Ethereum, Solana or XRP, or you want the lowest price (see Tangem)
  • Price: USD 349 for the Passport Prime on Foundation's site
  • Honest caveat: the Canadian shipping and duty details were not stated on the pages I checked, so confirm both at checkout
Foundation Passport
8.0/10Also reviewed, not in my top 7
  • PriceUSD 349 (Passport Prime, two colours, optional Concierge add-on)
  • Secure Elementnot stated; 'master keys protected on dedicated hardware'; independent review by Keylabs published
  • ConnectionQuantumLink: encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip; NFC or USB for the FIDO security key function
  • Open Sourceyes: KeyOS (the device OS) is open source and apps are open-source sandboxed; Foundation states 'Open source and built to be verified'

My #1 pick: before you buy the Foundation Passport, look at the Trezor Safe 7 (9.6/10), the wallet I use and rank first for Canadians.

Foundation Passport Prime Quick Facts
DetailInfo (From Foundation's Site)
ProductPassport Prime (the original Passport page now returns a 404)
PriceUSD 349, two colours, optional Concierge add-on
MakerFoundation Devices, Inc., United States
CoinsBitcoin only for the wallet function
ConnectionsQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC or USB for the security key function
SoftwareKeyOS, open source, with sandboxed open-source apps
Companion AppEnvoy, for setup and updates
Extras2FA codes, FIDO security keys, a secrets vault and 50 GB of encrypted storage
Independent AuditKeylabs, published October 2025
Shipping To CanadaNot stated on Foundation's shipping page

What Is The Foundation Passport And Who Is It For?

Foundation Devices builds Bitcoin hardware in the United States and describes its devices as American-manufactured. The earlier Passport page is gone. Foundation's site now sells only the Passport Prime, and I found no "Passport Core" or any other sibling on it, so when people search for the Foundation Passport, the Prime is what they can actually buy.

Foundation calls the Prime "Human Authority Hardware". In plain terms, it keeps your Bitcoin keys, but it also acts as a hardware security key for logging in to accounts, stores your two-factor codes and holds files in an encrypted vault. That wider job is the real difference from a pure signer like the Trezor Safe 7.

It suits a Canadian who holds mainly Bitcoin, cares about verifiable software and likes the idea of one device doing several security jobs. It does not suit a diversified portfolio. I tested it, and my own altcoins live on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card, because the Prime does not hold them.

How Secure Is The Foundation Passport?

Foundation says the master keys are protected on dedicated hardware. The pages I checked did not name a secure element chip, so I will not tell you the Prime has one. What I can source is the independent review: Keylabs audited the Passport Prime hardware and firmware, and Foundation's summary says it found no critical or high findings and some low-severity observations that need physical access to the device.

The software side is the stronger argument. KeyOS is open source, and Foundation states the device is "built to be verified". Apps run in sandboxes and are open source too. If you read code, or trust people who do, that matters more than a marketing line about a chip.

Connectivity is where you should think twice. The Prime talks to your phone over QuantumLink, an encrypted Bluetooth link through a dedicated chip, and uses NFC or USB for the security key role. If you want a device with no radio at all, an air-gapped QR signer such as SeedSigner is a different philosophy. Backup method and passphrase support were not stated on the pages I read, so check Foundation's setup guide before you buy if either matters to you.

How Much Does The Foundation Passport Cost In Canada?

Foundation lists the Passport Prime at USD 349. That is a premium price, well above most signers in my ranking. I did not find a CAD price, so the final amount depends on the exchange rate, shipping and whatever your courier charges.

The duty question is open. Foundation's shipping page did not name Canada, and I found no duty figure for this device. The CBSA's published courier rules give the framework: for shipments from the United States or Mexico, up to CAD 40 is duty and tax free, between CAD 40 and CAD 150 is duty free but taxes apply, and above CAD 150 duties and taxes apply. A USD 349 device sits well above that line, so budget for taxes and ask Foundation or your courier what they will collect. Do not buy from a reseller you cannot verify just to dodge the border charge. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre says to purchase hardware wallets directly from the manufacturer.

How Do You Set Up The Foundation Passport?

Foundation's own setup runs through the Envoy app, which handles setup and updates. I am not going to invent a step-by-step list of button presses that the pages I checked did not publish. The general order for any Bitcoin signer is the same:

  1. Buy direct. Order from foundation.xyz only, never from a marketplace listing or a pre-opened box.
  2. Install Envoy. Use Foundation's app for setup and firmware updates.
  3. Create or restore the wallet on the device. Follow Foundation's on-device prompts and write your backup on paper, offline.
  4. Send a small test amount first. Receive a little Bitcoin, then spend it back, before moving your savings.

The Prime began shipping to pre-order customers in March 2026, and Foundation announced general availability on May 21, 2026. It is a young product, so expect the app and firmware to keep changing.

Does The Foundation Passport Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Yes, in the same way any Bitcoin wallet does: you withdraw Bitcoin to a receive address that your device generated. Always confirm the address on the device screen or in Envoy before you approve a withdrawal.

Canadian platforms add a few steps. Coinbase asks whether the wallet is self-custody and has a "Sending to myself" checkbox for your own wallet; for CAD 1,000 or more to another entity it needs the recipient's name and address. Kraken shows a Travel Rule pop-up for withdrawals of CAD 1,000 or more, does not allow sending to a third party, and charges 0.000015 BTC for a Bitcoin withdrawal. NDAX asks "Who are you sending to?" above CAD 1,000, and "Sending to myself" needs nothing more. Newton requires you to save and verify the address in its address book first. Wealthsimple Crypto allows external wallet withdrawals with a daily limit up to CAD 10,000 after selfie verification.

Under the CRA's guidance, moving crypto between wallets you own is not a taxable disposition. Keep records for at least six years and read my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Coins Does The Foundation Passport Support?

Bitcoin. The wallet function is Bitcoin only. The other things the Prime does, like FIDO keys, 2FA codes and the vault, are not coin support. If you want Ethereum, Solana, XRP or tokens, you need a different device, and the best crypto wallets in Canada page shows which ones cover them.

What Are The Foundation Passport Pros And Cons?

Pros

  • KeyOS and its apps are open source
  • Third-party audit by Keylabs with no critical or high findings in Foundation's summary
  • Also works as a FIDO security key, 2FA holder and encrypted vault
  • Made by a US company that sells directly

Cons

  • USD 349 is expensive for a Bitcoin-only wallet
  • Bitcoin only
  • Wireless link (Bluetooth and NFC) rather than a fully air-gapped design
  • Secure element, backup method and passphrase support not stated on the pages I checked
  • Canadian shipping and duty details not stated

Is The Foundation Passport Worth It For Canadians?

For most Canadians, not at this price. If you only want to store Bitcoin safely, a cheaper signer does that job, and my top 7 gives you better value and more coins. The Prime earns its price only if you want the extra security-key and vault functions, you value open-source software, and you are comfortable with a young product from a small maker.

If that sounds like you, buy it directly, test it with a small amount, and ask about duties before you pay. If you are still comparing, start with the best crypto wallets in Canada and see how the Foundation Passport stacks up against Coldcard.

Visit Foundation

What Changed For Foundation Passport Recently?

  • Keylabs published its third-party audit of the Passport Prime hardware and firmware, with no critical or high findings in Foundation's summary.
  • Passport Prime began shipping to pre-order customers.
  • Foundation announced general availability of the Passport Prime.

Has Foundation Had Security Problems?

I found no documented breach, recall or disclosed vulnerability affecting Foundation wallets in primary sources as of October 2026. That is not a guarantee, so keep your firmware updated and buy only from the maker.

Independent audits: Keylabs (Oct 16, 2025): Third-party audit of Passport Prime hardware and firmware: no critical or high findings, low-severity observations needing physical access, per Foundation's summary..

How Does Foundation Passport Compare?

Foundation Passport Against Close Alternatives, Checked October 2026
WalletPriceConnectionSecure Element
Foundation PassportUSD 349 (Passport Prime, two colours, optional Concierge add-on)QuantumLink: encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip; NFC or USB for the FIDO security key functionnot stated; 'master keys protected on dedicated hardware'; independent review by Keylabs published
Trezor Safe 7USD 249Bluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless chargingTROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendors
Tangem Wallet2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor)NFC only (no battery, no cable)EAL6+ certified chip, Samsung-developed per Tangem; IP69K
Ledger FlexUSD 249 and CA$369 on the Canadian storefront; free shipping, usually ships within 24 hoursBluetooth (BLE 5.2), NFC, USB-CST33K1M5 Secure Element, Common Criteria EAL6+

Frequently Asked Questions

Is The Foundation Passport Still Sold?

The original Passport page on Foundation's site returns a 404 and the store now sells only the Passport Prime. I found no Passport Core on the site.

How Much Does The Foundation Passport Prime Cost?

Foundation lists it at USD 349, in two colours with an optional Concierge add-on. I did not find a CAD price, so check the total at checkout.

Does The Foundation Passport Ship To Canada?

Foundation's shipping page did not name Canada, so confirm at checkout before you order. Buy only from foundation.xyz, as the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre advises buying hardware wallets directly from the manufacturer.

Will I Pay Duty On A Foundation Passport In Canada?

I found no duty figure for this device. The CBSA says courier shipments from the United States above CAD 150 attract duties and taxes, and a USD 349 device is above that, so expect to pay taxes and ask the courier what they will collect.

Does The Foundation Passport Hold Ethereum Or Solana?

No. The wallet function is Bitcoin only. For other coins you need a multi-coin device such as a Trezor or a Tangem card.

Is The Foundation Passport Open Source?

Foundation says KeyOS, the device operating system, is open source and that its apps are open-source and sandboxed.

Is Moving Bitcoin To A Foundation Passport A Taxable Event In Canada?

No. The CRA says transfers of crypto between wallets you own are not a taxable disposition. Tick "sending to myself" when your exchange asks, and keep your records for at least six years.

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians, with prices and security features

See Full List

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

  • Reviews

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!