Arculus is a screenless metal card from about USD 60 and the Trezor Safe 7 is a USD 249 device with its own screen. The card is quick and cheap, but only the Trezor lets you check the transaction on the hardware.
Arculus Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 7 is the better pick because it scores 9.6 against 7.4 on my list.
How Do The Arculus And Trezor Safe 7 Compare, Spec By Spec?
Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.
Arculus Vs Trezor Safe 7: Master Spec Table
Arculus
Trezor Safe 7
Winner
Maker
Arculus
SatoshiLabs (Trezor)
Depends
My Score And Rank
7.4/10
9.6/10, #1 on my list
Trezor Safe 7
Price
USD 59.76 now (was USD 99.00) for one Arculus card; Silver and Black 2-pack bundle USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included
USD 249
Arculus
Buying In Canada
Canada shipping not stated
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
Depends
Secure Element
Common Criteria EAL6+ certified secure element in the card (badge on store); SOC 2 Type II audited
TROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendors
Depends
Open Source
Not published
yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub
Depends
Screen And Input
no screen: NFC metal card; approve by tapping the card to the phone after entering PIN and biometrics in the app
2.5 inch colour touchscreen, 520 x 380, 700 nits, Gorilla Glass 3, haptic feedback
Depends
Connection
NFC (tap card to phone)
Bluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless charging
Depends
Backup And Recovery
page says 'no stored recovery phrases'; buy multiple cards to split or back up crypto (a second card as backup); recovery method detail not
12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir)
Depends
Passphrase
Not published
yes
Depends
Coins
10,000+ coins and tokens, 27 blockchains on homepage (product page says 50+ blockchains; figures differ), covers over 95% of crypto by market cap; MetaMask and WalletConnect
1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party wallet apps; 70k+ dApps via third-party
Arculus
App
Arculus App on iOS and Android (Huawei devices reported unsupported in a customer review); no desktop app stated
Trezor Suite (Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; full iOS compatibility on Safe 7)
What Happens If You Lose Your Arculus Or Trezor Safe 7?
Arculus: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: page says 'no stored recovery phrases'; buy multiple cards to split or back up crypto (a second card as backup); recovery method detail not. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app.
Trezor Safe 7: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir). Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
Price And Shipping To Canada
Wallet
Official Price
Shipping To Canada
Arculus
USD 59.76 now (was USD 99.00) for one Arculus card; Silver and Black 2-pack bundle USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included
Canada shipping not stated
Trezor Safe 7
USD 249
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
Which Is More Secure, Arculus Or Trezor?
The Arculus card is a metal NFC card that approves transactions when you tap it to your phone after entering a PIN and biometrics in the app. The Trezor Safe 7 is a screen device with a three-chip design. I focus on the Safe 7 and note that Trezor also sells the Safe 5 (USD 129) and the Safe 3 (USD 59).
Arculus says its card has a Common Criteria EAL6+ certified secure element, and that the company is SOC 2 Type II audited. I could not confirm the SOC 2 claim on an independent page, so treat it as Arculus's own statement. Arculus also says no recovery phrase is stored: you buy more cards to back up, and I could not find a full recovery explanation on the pages I read. The Safe 7 uses TROPIC01 (auditable), an EAL6+ Optiga element and an STM32U5 chip, with open-source firmware and signed binaries on GitHub, and offers 12, 20 and 24 word backups plus Shamir multi-share.
A card with no screen cannot show you the address and amount. You are trusting the phone. The Safe 7 shows details on its own colour touchscreen. I weigh that more heavily than any certification.
Records: I found no security incident for Arculus, which is partly a function of a smaller footprint rather than proof of perfection. Trezor's 2026 list is real: Ledger Donjon's June laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip (needs the device, decapsulation and lab gear, and Trezor says PIN, funds and backup are not exposed), the ShipMonk breach that Trezor later said reached about 80,689 customers' order data, and a September Brevo breach that sent a fake alert from Trezor's address (Trezor response).
Which Is Easier To Use?
Arculus is quick: tap the card, approve in the Arculus app on iOS or Android. There is no desktop app mentioned, and one customer review reports Huawei phones are unsupported. There is no battery to charge. The Safe 7 has a 2.5 inch colour screen at 520 x 380 with haptic feedback, Bluetooth, USB-C and Qi2 charging, and Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux with full iOS support on this model. More to learn, more control.
Which Supports More Coins?
Arculus says 10,000+ coins and tokens, though it says 27 blockchains on its homepage and 50+ on a product page, and the figures differ, so verify your chain. It supports MetaMask and WalletConnect and sells an XRP card. Trezor says 1000s of coins and tokens through Suite and over 30 third-party apps. I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card, so XRP storage on Trezor is my own practice.
Which Costs Less In Canada?
Arculus and Trezor: price and buying in Canada
Item
Arculus
Trezor
Price As The Maker Shows It
USD 59.76 for one card (was USD 99.00); 2-pack USD 76.26
USD 249 (CAD price not shown to my fetch)
Shipping To Canada
Not stated on the pages I could read
Trezor says it ships to 200+ countries and any country in its checkout list; Canada is not named on the page
Canadian Resellers
No Canadian reseller listed
Amazon Canada
A single Arculus card was USD 59.76 on a markdown from USD 99.00, and a two-card Silver and Black bundle was USD 76.26, taxes not included. I could not confirm Canadian shipping on its pages. The Safe 7 is USD 249, with Amazon Canada as the listed Canadian reseller. Arculus makes sense as a backup pair, and the Safe 7 as a main device.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Both receive from any exchange. Newton requires every external address in its Address Book with MFA first, and Bull Bitcoin pays out straight to your own wallet with no fee in Bitcoin. Coinbase asks you to confirm a self-transfer. Moving coins between your own wallets is not a disposition per the CRA. See my Coinbase review.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose Arculus if you want something wallet-card sized, metal and quick, are happy to rely on your phone's screen and plan to keep a second card as a backup.
: Trezor's Brevo email provider was breached, and a fake alert was sent from Trezor's address.
: Trezor's fulfilment provider ShipMonk was breached, exposing customer order data.
: Ledger Donjon disclosed a laser attack on Trezor's TROPIC01 chip.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Arculus A Safe Cold Wallet?
Arculus says its card has an EAL6+ secure element and is SOC 2 Type II audited, though I could not confirm the audit independently. I found no security incident for it. The weakness is design: the card has no screen, so you trust your phone's display.
Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?
I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card. Trezor says its devices support 1000s of coins and tokens, but XRP is not named on the pages I sourced, so check Trezor's supported-coins list. Arculus sells an XRP card.
What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?
No brand is spotless. My ranking is the Trezor Safe 7 first, Tangem second and Ledger Flex third. Arculus is not in my top seven.
Can A Trezor Wallet Be Hacked?
In a lab, yes: Ledger Donjon's June 2026 laser attack extracted some secrets from the TROPIC01 chip, needing the device, decapsulation and lab equipment. Trezor says PIN, funds and backup are not exposed. A passphrase adds protection against theft of the device.
Does Arculus Have A Recovery Phrase?
Arculus says no recovery phrases are stored, and suggests buying more cards to back up. I could not find a full recovery explanation on the pages I read, so read its guide before you rely on it.
Which Is Cheaper, The Arculus Or The Trezor Safe 7?
Arculus: USD 59.76 now (was USD 99.00) for one Arculus card; Silver and Black 2-pack bundle USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included. Trezor Safe 7: USD 249.
Do The Arculus And The Trezor Safe 7 Ship To Canada?
Arculus: Canada shipping not stated. Trezor Safe 7: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.