OneKey Pro is the feature-packed challenger: four secure elements, a fingerprint sensor, a QR camera and support for tens of thousands of tokens. The Trezor Safe 7 is the more established name with a three-chip design and a firmware history you can read on GitHub. In my ranking Trezor is number one and OneKey Pro is number four.
OneKey Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 7 is the better pick because it scores 9.6 against 9.0 on my list.
OneKey Pro
9.0/10#4 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada
What Happens If You Lose Your OneKey Pro Or Trezor Safe 7?
OneKey Pro: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 24-word recovery phrase with optional passphrase; hidden wallet via secondary PIN. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 1 security issue is on record for the maker, the latest on 2023-02-14 (CVE-2023-25758 physical man-in-the-middle on Mini and Touch).
Trezor Safe 7: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir). Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
Price And Shipping To Canada
Wallet
Official Price
Shipping To Canada
OneKey Pro
USD 278 (shown in USD); free shipping advertised
Ships to Canada
Trezor Safe 7
USD 249
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
Which Is More Secure, OneKey Or Trezor?
Both are open source, which matters more than any chip count. OneKey says its firmware and apps are open source and reproducible on GitHub, with independent audits including SlowMist, and the Pro carries four EAL 6+ secure elements. Trezor lists open-source security, publishes signed firmware binaries and a changelog, and the Safe 7 combines the auditable TROPIC01 element, an NDA-free Optiga EAL6+ element and an STM32U5 microcontroller.
Their incident lists differ in kind. OneKey's only documented hardware issue I found is CVE-2023-25758, where researchers at Unciphered showed that after opening a OneKey Mini or Touch an attacker could intercept the link to the secure element and get the seed. That needs physical access and disassembly, and it was on older models (NVD entry). Trezor has more entries because it has been around longer and is attacked more: the 2020 Kraken Security Labs seed extraction on the Model One and Model T, the June 2026 laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip, and two 2026 vendor breaches that exposed customer data but no devices or keys. That is the answer to the common question about Trezor's disadvantages: lab attacks with physical access, and phishing that follows each data leak.
One more fact for balance. OneKey says it is backed by Coinbase Ventures and Binance Labs (now YZi Labs). That is the company's own statement on its Pro page and it does not change how the device signs, but some readers will care who owns what.
Which Is Easier To Use?
OneKey Pro has a 3.5 inch colour multi-touch screen at 480 x 800, a fingerprint sensor and a camera for QR signing, plus USB-C, Bluetooth, NFC and Qi2 charging. It can work fully air-gapped over QR. The OneKey app runs on mobile and desktop. The Trezor Safe 7 has a smaller 2.5 inch colour touchscreen with haptics, Bluetooth, USB-C and Qi2, and Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux, with full iOS compatibility. OneKey gives you more input methods. Trezor gives you a more familiar, calmer setup.
Which Supports More Coins?
OneKey claims 30,000+ coins and tokens across 100+ chains. Trezor says thousands of coins and tokens, 30+ third-party wallet apps and a large dApp ecosystem through those apps. On raw numbers OneKey wins. As for XRP, I keep mine on a Trezor Safe 7, and I would still confirm any coin on each maker's supported list before moving funds. OneKey also lists a Bitcoin-only support option on the Pro page.
Which Costs Less In Canada?
Cost And Delivery: OneKey Pro Vs Trezor Safe 7
Item
OneKey Pro
Trezor Safe 7
Price
USD 278, free shipping advertised
USD 249
Canada Delivery
Help centre lists Canada with a 10-day estimate
Ships to 200+ countries; Amazon Canada is an authorised reseller
The sticker prices are close, with Trezor about USD 29 cheaper. Neither maker states Canadian duties, and parcels that cross the border above CAD 20 can attract duties and taxes depending on where they ship from. Buy direct or from an authorised reseller only.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Both give you a receive address to paste into your exchange withdrawal screen. Wealthsimple Crypto supports external wallet withdrawals with a selfie ID check before the first one, and Newton wants every address saved in its Address Book and verified first. Read my Wealthsimple and Newton reviews before your first transfer, and send a small test amount.
Think about how you will actually use the device. If you move funds weekly between chains, OneKey's larger token list and camera save steps. If you hold a few large positions and touch them twice a year, the calmer Trezor flow and its Shamir multi-share backup are worth more than extra features. Both support a passphrase, and OneKey adds a hidden wallet behind a secondary PIN, which is useful if you worry about being forced to unlock the device.
Whichever you pick, write the backup on paper or metal, never photograph it, and never type it into a website. Trezor itself warns that it will never contact you about your backup and that scammers now imitate support with AI voice and video. The same rule applies to OneKey.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose OneKey Pro if you hold lots of smaller chains, want a fingerprint reader and QR air-gap in one device and are comfortable with a newer brand. My OneKey Pro review has the hands-on view. Choose the Trezor Safe 7 if you want the safest default, a Shamir backup option (12-, 20- and 24-word backups plus multi-share) and a long public track record. Most Canadians who ask me should start there. The Ledger Vs OneKey page shows a third option.
What Has Happened With OneKey And Trezor?
OneKey says the Pro battery (530 mAh) passed UN38.3 transport certification (OneKey blog).
Trezor Safe 7 firmware 2.12.5 released (changelog).
Trezor's email vendor Brevo was breached and a fake 'entropy vulnerability' alert went out from Trezor's address. Trezor will never ask for your backup (Trezor).
Trezor's fulfilment provider ShipMonk was breached, exposing order contact data, later put at roughly 80,689 customers (Trezor).
Frequently Asked Questions
Is OneKey A Good Wallet?
On the evidence I used, yes: open-source firmware, independent audits, four EAL 6+ secure elements and one documented hardware issue on older models. It is newer than Trezor and Ledger, which is the main reason it sits fourth in my ranking.
What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?
No wallet earns trust automatically. I rank the Trezor Safe 7 first, Tangem second and Ledger Flex third, with OneKey Pro fourth.
What Are The Disadvantages Of Trezor?
Lab attacks that need the device in hand, such as the June 2026 laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip, and phishing that follows its vendors' data breaches. Trezor says funds are not at risk from either. The Safe 7 also costs more than the Safe 3 and Safe 5.
Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?
I keep my XRP on a Trezor Safe 7. Trezor says it supports thousands of coins and tokens, and you should confirm any specific coin on Trezor's supported coins list before you buy.
Does OneKey Ship To Canada?
OneKey's help centre lists Canada with a 10-day delivery estimate. Duties are not stated, so check at checkout.
Which Is Cheaper, The OneKey Pro Or The Trezor Safe 7?
Is The OneKey Pro Or The Trezor Safe 7 Open Source?
OneKey Pro: yes: firmware and apps open source and reproducible on GitHub, independent audits incl. SlowMist. Trezor Safe 7: yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub.
Do The OneKey Pro And The Trezor Safe 7 Ship To Canada?
OneKey Pro: Ships to Canada. Trezor Safe 7: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.